Orange You Glad It’s Monday (said no one ever)

Day 15. Or, shopping day – yay! – so my fridge is stocked once again! I felt pretty healthy, putting mostly produce, meat, and dairy in my cart. Most of my shopping was contained to the outer sections, but I did have to get a few other necessities. Since it’s only been a couple weeks it will take me a while to get back into the groove of eating without wheat (and other things). Making meals for the others – and dinner for all of us – is sometimes challenging. Sooner or later I’ll have a better idea of which things to keep in our weekly rotation. Problem is, I do so enjoy trying new things! Phil said I should just simplify it and make the same meals every week.

Breakfast: Smoothie
I put a little less liquid in my smoothie this morning and not as many cherries. For some reason, this was more manageable than some other mornings. I still think I need to add more protein, though – perhaps I’ll soak some nuts and throw them in.

Lunch: Citrus Quinoa Salad with kale and salmon
Most of the recipes I make provide 2-4 servings, and this was no exception. So, I basically fudge the amounts but stay true to the basic ingredients. I wanted this to be a lunch salad, so I added some kale and salmon. I already had cooked quinoa and salmon in the fridge, so I sauteed them in olive oil on the stove, then threw in the kale. I didn’t have broccoli sprouts but found organic pea shoots, which look similar (compared to the bean sprouts that I’ve used on other salads, they’re thinner and more delicate). For the citrus, I used half an orange and half a grapefruit. The dressing was nice and simple and pulled it all together. A yummy, refreshing salad! I might even add oranges to some more salads. 

Snack: Veggie Stix; smoothie
The sort-of-smoothie had iced coffee, protein powder, and ice cubes.

Dinner: Chicken sausage, peppers, onions, and chard over rice
I often buy sausage when it’s on sale and put it in the freezer. When I was putting the groceries away today I realized I had about seven or eight packages in there, so I decided to thaw one for dinner. I used a couple peppers, an onion, and some garden chard, all of it cooked in olive oil and coconut aminos with salt and pepper. I served it with rice and vegan cheese sauce (everyone else had REAL cheese, along with some leftover fruit pizza).

Bedtime: Brown Rice Snaps (Vegetable)

See other elimination diet days:
01 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07
08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

photo credit: Jonathan Pielmayer

Leave a Reply

