Lettuce Turnip the Beet

Day 3.

The last time I did an elimination diet, and later a sugar detox, I didn’t have any really rough moments when I felt like I was actually “detoxing” or going through withdrawals. Now, I tend to get headaches on a regular basis, so it’s entirely possible I just didn’t realize what was going on… but I thought I would feel worse.

Perhaps it’s just a coincidence that I’m doing another elimination diet during peak pollen (and caterpillar) season, but I’ve been feeling rather crappy lately. Classic sinus-related stuff. It’s another story, but I’ve been seeing a chiropractor three times a week for over a month now, and I admitted to him that it seems my current crappy is less so than my allergies in the past (plus, right?).

There are so many variables where health is considered – genes, hormones, environment, nutrition, activity, stress, etc. I’ve probably had… oh, maybe a total of 8, or 11, or fewer… nights of good sleep in the past 2+ years. There have been a number of times I’ve wondered, Can you die from lack of sleep? I know it doesn’t do me or anyone else around me any good!

In any case, despite the fact that I’m not feeling well, I have been feeling POSITIVE. Whenever I am taking care of my body I feel better just knowing I’m treating myself well, and it’s a cumulative effect, the longer I keep it up. I guess it’s true: You are what you eat.

image credit

Breakfast: Smoothie
To my basic smoothie I started adding a scoop of Orgain Organic Protein Plant Based Powder. I’m not a big proponent of protein powders in general – or any sort of vitamins and supplements (“Let Food Be Thy Medicine” and all) – but I decided to do so for the sake of the program and the extra benefits (aaaaand it was on sale!).

Lunch: Detox Kale & Quinoa Salad with salmon
Another awesome salad! Admittedly, I picked this one because it looked nice but I was somewhat unenthusiastic about making it because it seemed like it might be bland. And beets, not a fan. Buuut it all worked together so nicely! And I added salmon, which was totally yummy. Serving it with the warm quinoa brought it up a notch, and the sweet dressing brought it all together. Can I say again how I dislike the overuse of the word “detox,” though? I think it glorifies what simply amounts to whole food, healthy ingredients.

Snack: Veggie Stix; small bowl of unsweetened applesauce with cinnamon; iced tea with stevia
I’m horrible at getting enough liquids during the day! *SIGH*

Dinner: Southwestern Pork Soup with Vegan Mexican Cheese and 2 small biscuits
The soup is one I make a lot in the crock pot. I usually sub in some sort of chicken sausage, which I did tonight. I add one or two peppers and a big can of petite diced tomatoes. I also love to add chipotle chili seasoning, finishing the soup off with some coconut milk for creaminess. I usually add a bag of frozen corn but didn’t since I’m corn-free right now. The rolls I made were a basic buttermilk drop biscuit, using my own gluten-free flour mix + almond coconut milk + palm shortening/coconut oil. 

Bedtime: another biscuit and some lemon water

See other elimination diet days:
day 01 | day 02

Leave a Reply

