Baby · Crafts · Family · Pregnancy

Remembering

I haven’t had the time nor the energy to update here, so it will seem for y’all that time has flown… but it’s inched by s-l-o-w-l-y for me.

This month we remember Shiloh and hope to welcome the newest addition to our family. The little man is technically due the beginning of September, but he better come early because I’ve had enough of this already. This has been the longest pregnancy in the history of… history… and I don’t know how much more I can take, especially in 90+-degree weather without air-conditioning. Y’all, I discovered that the pillows on our bed are sticking to the headboard, it’s so damp in here! I had to peel them off and I wonder if the finish might be damaged.

Since we lost our baby last year, we’ve done a number of things to commemorate that little life. We planted a tree (there is a babies’ garden in-progress in the front yard, not only for Shiloh but for Astrid and others as well), bought special jewelry, lit candles and prayed. Phil took up playing the violin, is now taking lessons every week and is getting pretty good. It took me a while to allow myself to get attached to the life now growing inside of me, but as each day, week, month passed I realized that maybe things will be okay. I let myself make baby blankies, buy a special stuffed animal, things I never got around to last time.

One of the things I hoped to do was make a special prayer flag, which I’ve written about before.  I had all sorts of ideas and wanted to pour my time and grief and creativity into the project, but I just never got around to it. Similarly, I had the idea to buy a special dreamcatcher, and fell in love with these designs at Heaven’s Walk. But I couldn’t justify buying one when I knew I was capable of making one; Phil already knows how to do the weaving and I have a whole bunch of craft supplies on hand. Time went by… and when August rolled around, all the memories came swiftly rushing back with a vengeance, and I decided to tackle the project.

I LOVE how Shiloh’s dreamcatcher turned out! I chose white, blue, and purple for the colors and went through my stash of fabric, beads, and trim for all the elements. There were so many directions in which I could go and layers I could add, but I’m happy with the result. I still want to add a couple feathers, but for now I’ve been watching the fringes sway in the breeze of the fan (that doesn’t seem to provide much relief in the heat). The other night I just lay on the couch, watching it swing back and forth.

My Big Bossy Sis is getting married next month and she wants the family to wear her wedding colors. I think it’s an awesome idea! I have most of our outfits figured out but wasn’t sure exactly what to do for the baby, since I don’t have any dressy things for him. I considered making a vest onesie since both Daddy and Josiah will be wearing vests, but decided sewing it on would be too finicky and opted instead for a simple bowtie onesie (to match a bowtie I made for Josiah) along with long-sleeve cardigan onesie. Ohmigosh, can I just say how cute it is?! If I have time I’ll make some more bowties. I’m afraid he’ll poop through the outfit before we leave the house! Phil says to put in on when we get there. *grin*

I haven’t finished them yet, but am putting together bib sibling gifts for the kiddos. I didn’t want to go over-the-top buying them lots of stuff, and I don’t want to turn every event into a gift-giving opportunity, but I thought it would make the arrival of their baby brother extra-special. I found some metal baskets in the Target dollar… er, $3-dollar… section (is it just me, or is their dollar section getting more expensive?). As I’ve been saying a lot lately… “If I have time”… I will make fabric liners for them. Inside are some things just for them – sticker/activity book, story book, colored bubble bath, and bag of snacks (fruit gummies, granola bars, gum). Then I put some practical things in each of their baskets to use when helping me take care of the baby – wipes (with Finding Nemo pictures on the package), baby toy (Gwen will get a fabric teether, Josiah a wooden truck, and Addy some key teethers), see-through pencil pouches with handmade wash cloth, mini bottles of baby wash and lotion, muslin burp cloths that I hope to embellish, and a pacifier (if I have time I’ll make pacifier clips), plus a white onesie they can decorate with fabric markers.

For the teether in Gwen’s basket, I had her pick out three different fabrics. I typically make these “Bunny Ears Baby Chompers” but was inspired by bird and elephant on Etsy to make a feather-shaped version. Definitely more of a pain than the simple ear-shaped version, but I like how it turned out.

This week I’m 37 weeks, which means this guy can come any day now! Josiah was born at 37 weeks so I’m getting my hopes up. There’s no more room for him in there, I’m huge and waddly, sore and sweaty, sick of this whole thing. I can’t see past the actual labor and delivery at this point, but I just want to get it over with.

Stay cool!

 

 

Leave a Reply

