Fourteen Years

“Marriage is the clasping of hands, the blending of hearts, the union of two lives as one. Your marriage must stand, not by the authority of the state nor by the words of the minister, but by the strength of your love and the power of faith in each other and in God.” -anonymous

I loved that quote so much that I put it in our wedding program, along with a wedding scrapbook.  I have four different wedding albums – the professional one for which my parents generously paid; the scrapbook; a journal-type book to write details about the engagement, wedding, honeymoon, and current events; along with a mini book in which I put some of the leftover professional photos.

I love to look at pictures – to a fault!  I will pore over photos, analyze what was going on in my mind at the time, remember how much I weighed based on what I was wearing… argh.  Admittedly, I’ve gotten better since having kids… now it’s mostly a wistful journey back in time, wondering how my kids were ever that small, bemoaning that fact they they’re so big and growing into such varying, strong, willful personalities. *sigh*

So, I’m stealing the collage from my eleventh anniversary post.  I haven’t scanned all of our wedding pictures, and I probably won’t get to it anytime soon.  Digital is so much easier!

anniversary collage

We’ve had quite a journey over the past fourteen years, and I can’t believe both how some things change and how some stay the same. One of those Mysteries of Life!  Lots of good times mixed in with challenging situations – many, many blessings – all of which have helped shaped who we have become.

“I don’t have the prettiest face to look at, or the skinniest waist to hold, but I do have the biggest heart to love you with.” from my Love & Romance Pinterest board.

Phil, I love you so much.

2 thoughts on “Fourteen Years

Comments are closed.