Sugar Detox – day 21 (aka The End)

So, I’ve reached the end of my sugar detox.  There were some looong days, and some cravings here and there, but for the most part I’d say the time went pretty fast.  My digestion isn’t perfect – I don’t think it every will be (and c’mon, can’t broccoli give you gas? and that’s heathy!) – but I feel better and would like to try and stick with this way of eating.

Confession time: I had dessert today.  But I only did it because it was a special occasion and I didn’t want to be rude!  I don’t think it had much sugar, but definitely wheat. *sigh*  It would have to be on the last day, right?  It might just be an assumption, but I had a stomachache later, which may or may not have been because of the treat.  So, it wasn’t horrible, it was strawberry shortcake.  Could have been worse!  Say, death by chocolate cake or something?  Gosh… I could use some chocolate right about now…

Breakfast:
banana chocolate peanut butter smoothie

green curry fritters
Green Curry Fritters | credit: myrecipes.com

Lunch:
leftovers from yesterday – burger (no bun) with sauteed onions; BLT salad with egg, radishes, and dairy-free Caesar dressing; pepper strips; olives; garden beans (some of them were our new purple variety!); water

Snack (dessert):
strawberry shortcake – biscuit with strawberries and fresh whipped cream; water

Dinner:
Green Curry Fritters (some alterations, the biggest of which was cornmeal and flaxseed meal instead of bread crumbs) on top of mixed greens with dairy-free Caesar dressing; rice with chipotle hot sauce; water – Those fritters, more like burgers, were sooo good! I’ll definitely be making them again.

*See my other sugar detox days.

