Sugar Detox – day 11

A day without the kids. A day to get All The Stuff done.  And I never get enough done!  I’m tired, feeling the pressure of trying to Do It All.  Normally I would soothe my feelings with sugar in some form or another, but I knew that would make me feel worse.  I’ve been trying to carry my water bottle around with me, adding ice so it’s nice and cold, sometimes adding a squeeze of fresh lemon juice and stevia for a nice kick.  I guess I should be thankful the days are hotter now, because otherwise I don’t know if I could stomach the water.  Weird how drinking water can be such a challenge for me; if I drink water on an empty stomach in the morning, it actually makes me feel sick.  Luckily, I can have my smoothies!

Breakfast:  
banana chocolate peanut butter smoothie

Lunch:
leftover rice heated in olive oil with butternut squash, brussels sprouts, sweet onion, bacon, and topped with avocado; water

Snack:
brown rice crackers; radishes

Dinner:
salad with garden-fresh mixed greens, tomatoes, sauteed onions, steak (tossed with olive oil and fresh herbs), and topped with dairy-free Caesar dressing; water

I just had a little portion of salad, and I found myself ravenous at 9 o’clock.  Had a few more brown rice crackers and a handful of almonds for protein.  I’m glad I’ve stuck with this… but I could really go for some pizza.

See other detox days: day 1 | day 2 | day 3 | day 4 | day 5 | day 6 | day 7 | day 8 | day 9 | day 10

