Pineapple Sorbet

O. M. G. I could not wait to share this next recipe with you.  I’m currently on a sugar detox – which is very unfortunate due to the timing and deliciousness of this recipe – but will be sure to make it again when I add fruit back into my diet.  You may be wondering how I know it’s so good if I’m not having fruit?  Confession: I had a spoonful.  And I’m pretty sure my eyeballs rolled back into my head.

Many of you have seen similar recipes floating around. In fact, I’m often surprised that people can keep creating cookbooks since it seems like All The Recipes have been made.  But of course everyone puts his or her own spin on it.  This one is simply called “Pineapple Sorbet,” but you may also know it as the infamous “Dole Whip” from Disney.  Now, I’ve never had the Real Thing, so I can’t say whether or not it’s accurate, but the homemade version sure is yummy.

This recipe comes from The PlantPure Nation, by Kim Campbell, another one in the line of BenBella Vegan cookbooks.  I’ve had this on my list to make for a while now, and today seemed like the perfect day – it’s sunny outside, muggy all around, the kiddos were in need of some refreshment and an after-lunch treat.  Without further ado, here it is:

Pineapple Sorbet
Pineapple Sorbet | credit: benbellavegan.com

Pineapple Sorbet
If you have ever tried Pineapple Whip at Disneyland or the Dole Plantation in Hawaii, then you will be familiar with this recipe. This sorbet is a plant-based, healthy version that is creamy, refreshing, and satisfying. It’s my new favorite dessert.

Ingredients:
1 ripe pineapple
1/2 cup nondairy milk
1 tablespoon agave nectar
1/4 cup lite coconut milk

Directions:
1. Peel and cut up the pineapple, making sure to take out all the core. Freeze overnight. If you don’t have time, you can use store-bought frozen pineapple.

2. Place all ingredients in a high-powered blender (a Vitamix works best). Blend until creamy. If needed, add more milk to get your blades spinning smoothly.

3. Divide among 4 bowls and serve immediately.

We don’t use agave nectar, so I used raw honey instead (not appropriate for vegans, but that’s alright with me).  The milks I chose were full-fat coconut milk and unsweetened almond milk.  Recently I saw a similar recipe on Chocolate-Covered Katie – one of my favorite sites for healthy treats! and I just got her cookbook for a family member and want it for myself! – and I decided to try her suggestion for adding lemon juice.  YUM!

 

