Sugar Detox – day 9

It can be a huge pain in the butt making two separate meals – one for those who can have wheat pasta and cheese and butter and – gasp! – fresh fruit, and one whose acceptable list of foods is much smaller.  But the upside?  I often have leftovers when the meal is just for me.

Breakfast:
banana chocolate peanut butter smoothie

Lunch:
leftover brown rice pasta with rainbow chard and chicken; water

Snack:
brown rice crackers; water

Dinner:
leftover swordfish kabobs with rice, broccoli, and avocado; more water (no wonder I have to pee all the time)

Yesterday was my first time having swordfish, and it was so good!  I’m sure it helped that the marinade had good flavor, but the fish itself seemed very meaty and flavorful.  I could happily eat swordfish every week.  Too bad it’s so pricey!

It can be hard sticking to your detox – or “diet” – guns when out and about, in social situations, but for me when I’m home it’s not as big of a deal.  In fact, while eating lunch, it occurred to me that I wasn’t eating a large portion like I normally might, and I was fine with that.  The longer you make progress, the easier it is to stay on track.  Phil tried to offer me a bite of his strawberry-rhubarb pie on Father’s Day, and I shook my head, “I don’t want to mess it up.”  

See other detox days: day 1 | day 2 | day 3 | day 4 | day 5 | day 6 | day 7 | day 8

