Sugar Detox – day 4

Last night my tummy was really bugging me, and I was wondering, what gives?  It would be a lot easier to be consistent with healthy choices if I consistently felt better!

Breakfast:
chocolate peanut butter smoothie (pretty much my staple smoothie, though normally I would mix it up with frozen cherries or other frozen berries); 1 piece of sausage (I made them for the rest of the family and couldn’t resist! Jones Dairy Farm is my favorite brand because it contains so few ingredients; I love the maple version, but usually get the mild because of the lack of sweetener.)

BLT salad with avocado
BLT Salad with Avocado
credit: mynameissnickerdoodle.com

Lunch:
BLT salad with – of course – bacon, lettuce, and tomato as well as avocado, hard-boiled egg, olives, and dairy-free Ceasar dressing (this was my inspiration); water with lemon

I’m not toting a water bottle around all the time, but I’ve been trying to be more conscientious in my intake of fluids during the day – especially water and tea.  It actually makes me feel sick to drink water on an empty stomach in the morning, so I have to be careful.  The downside: I have to pee all the time.

Snack:
handful of roasted peanuts; water with lemon

I’ve noticed when the kids aren’t home during the day, and I have time to work on some of my own projects, I could just keep going and not really think about food (until my tummy is growling).  When the kids are here, I just want to snack and eat chocolate and yummy things.  That’s emotional eating for ya.

Dinner:
brown rice with fajita chicken (made on the stovetop, though, since I had a whole chicken in the crock pot), topped with avocado and drizzled with dairy-free Ceasar dressing (it gives it a nice, cheese-y creaminess without the actual cheese)

Tomorrow I’m going strawberry-picking with my good friend, Nichole, and her two kiddos.  I’m so bummed I can’t eat any of the pickings!  For Father’s Day, I’m hoping to make a strawberry-rhubarb pie for Phil, so I have to save some of those babies anyway.

See other detox days:
day 1
day 2
day 3

