Sugar Detox – day 3

I’ve done different diets and workout plans in the past, and the only time I got some sort of withdrawal symptoms – headaches, feeling sick and dizzy, etc. – was way before I had kids when I did something similar to the South Beach Diet. Not sure if it’s the same today, but if I remember correctly it eliminated carbs. I felt awful!

When I did an elimination diet recently, getting rid of seven foods entirely, I figured it would have some sort of negative effect on me at first.  But you know what, not really.  I wonder if it’s because I already eat relatively healthy, wasn’t cutting out fast food, junk food, soda, a lot of processed foods.  Just a guess.  I’ve read a bunch of other blog posts where people have done a sugar detox – be it three days, eight days, twenty-one days, or more – and sometimes within the first few days they feel awful.  Well, on day three of a sugar detox I feel fine.  Is that because I already don’t eat white sugar or a lot of sugar?  I don’t know.  I hope it’s not a sign that it won’t have much of an impact.  We’ll see!

Today’s meals…

Breakfast:
leftover salmon scrambled eggs (made with almond milk, olive oil, no cheese);
carrot spice muffin (sweet potato instead of pumpkin, coconut oil for fat, green banana, 2t cinnamon for pumpkin pie spice); cold-brew coffee with unsweetened coconut almond milk (I like this blend from Almond Breeze, though I know it would be healthier to make my own) and stevia

credit: balancedbites.com

Lunch:
banana chocolate peanut butter smoothie (same as yesterday but with a handful of fresh-from-the-garden spinach); red pepper slices, black olives, brown rice thins

Yesterday I just had a smoothie for lunch, but even though I’ve been eating healthily, including healthy fats and proteins, I’ve still been getting hungry, so I added those extras in.

Snack:
handful of roasted peanuts; water with lemon

So while I haven’t had any major cravings, by dinnertime I was really hungry.  That could have been because the kids were annoying me a bit and the day was dragging on and, hey, I’m an emotional eater.

Dinner:
leftover spaghetti squash bolognese; steamed broccoli with homemade dairy-free Ceasar dressing

Hopefully I’m done for the day! Normally, after the kids go to bed, I like to whip up a treat for myself, but I need to cut that out.  Even one of my healthy snacks is out – chopped apple with dark chocolate chips and nuts.  Mm, that’d be good about now.  One more hour till the kids’ bedtime, one more hour till the kids’ bedtime… I think I can I think I can I think I can…

See other detox days:
day 1
day 2

