Homemade Cough Syrup & Decongestant

As I get older my seasonal allergies seem to get worse.  I don’t remember ever having them as a child, and then a few years back – BAM! – they hit me.  It settles in my sinuses, giving me a sore throat, stuffy nose, headache, making it nearly impossible to fall asleep at night.

I don’t like to take medicine – unless perhaps I have a really bad headache – so I didn’t even think of buying allergy medication.  I did, however, look around for some home remedies.  I found a promising homemade decongestant but didn’t have all the ingredients on hand (I don’t usually stock radishes and red onion), but then I found a really simple recipe that actually looked like it might taste good, too.

Maggie’s Cough Remedy consists of cayenne, ginger, cider vinegar, honey and water.  How easy is that?  I didn’t have the cayenne but settled for chili powder, which I think acts in the same way.  As you can imagine, with the pepper and ginger, it’s spicy – but a sweet spicy.  As the original recipe notes, it’s quite watery and the spices don’t completely dissolve, so you just shake it up each time you use it.  I made a small batch in a jelly jar and store it in the fridge.

It’s not a miracle elixir or anything, but I feel like it really helped, and the combination of ingredients seems to both tackle decongestion and soothe a sore throat.   Safe for the whole family – except for babies, who shouldn’t have honey –  and I don’t think you can overdose on pepper and ginger!

Maggie’s Cough Remedy
¼ teaspoon cayenne
¼ teaspoon ginger
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
2 tablespoon water
1 tablespoon honey

Dissolve the spices in the vinegar and water, then add the honey.  Take one tablespoon as needed.

One thought on “Homemade Cough Syrup & Decongestant

Comments are closed.