Scrambling to Get Ready for Easter

//

I like to plan ahead, but these days I’m lucky if I remember to write out my to-do list, nevermind start crossing things off.  I feel like I just conquered Valentine’s Day and… oh crap, Easter is just around the corner!  It is my second favorite holiday after Christmas and I want to impart the meaning to my children, making it both fun and memorable for them.  We’ll definitely be doing our Benjamin’s Box activities in the week leading up to Easter Sunday.

With all the holidays and special occasions one after another –  many of them belabored as we celebrate them at different times and with different people – I really want to get away from all the candy. Yes, I know there are Peeps and Cadbury eggs and all those traditional sweets, but just because they line the shelves – and we see yummy things to create with them – doesn’t mean we have to buy them!

Anyhoo, here are some ideas I’m hoping to put together this year:

Last year I made these bunny treat bags for the kiddos so I’m going to re-use them.  They’re pretty small, so we’ll see what I’ll be able to fit inside.

credit: ediblecrafts.craftgossip.com

During school last year we had these butterfly snack bags.  I still have the clothespins and will use them again, filling the bags with trail mix.

credit: susanweinroth.typepad.com

The kiddos love Goldfish crackers and the carrot-shaped packaging is cute.

credit: thecraftsdept.marthastewart.com

Along the same lines, these crepe paper carrots are so cute!  The Easter version of a surprise ball.

credit: onecharmingparty.com

For warm-weather play or bathtime fun, these sponge balls would be a hit.

credit: yummyearth.com

And since Easter wouldn’t be Easter without jelly beans, Yum Earth Naturals makes a healthier alternative.

credit: katherinemaries.com

It was fun putting together an Easter egg hunt lunch for the kiddos last year and I’ll probably do it again… if only to re-use our plastic eggs!

credit: thecookingphotographer.com
credit: foodjimoto.com

Almost every year we do some sort of deviled eggs and birds’ nest cookies, so I’d like to make them again this time around.  We’ll probably be having Easter at my sister’s house and we’re not sure yet on the menu, but we’re thinking something brunch-y.  Perhaps I’ll make hash brown cups, French toast casserolebaked oatmeal or NY style crumb cake.

What will you be making and doing for Easter this year?

*See my Easter Pinterest board for more inspiration.

One thought on “Scrambling to Get Ready for Easter

Comments are closed.