38 Weeks and Chomping at the Bit

*Pregnancy musings interspersed with some pinspirations

I am so done with this pregnancy!  I think it seems to be taking so much longer because it’s the middle of winter, I’m tired of taking care of the kiddos and working overtime every day and I’m almost always in some sort of discomfort or pain so I’m not getting any sleep.

“For this child I prayed.”
credit: flickr.com

The other day on the way home from an errand Gwen pipes up from the back seat, in a very serious voice: “When the baby comes I’m not going to get any sleep.”  What?!  I’ll be the one not getting any sleep, thank you very much, and I’ve had lots of practice!

Cute newborn photo; made some similar headbands.
credit: etsy.com

I’m trying to keep my spirits up, keep things in perspective, but these final weeks especially seem to be taking forever.  It doesn’t help that Josiah, my last one, was born at thirty-seven weeks and I’ve passed that mark. *sigh*

baby in cowboy boots
credit: iheartfaces.com

To be honest, there wasn’t a lot to prepare to get ready for the baby – “been there, done that.”  I had to borrow some things from friends, get things out of storage and so forth, but I don’t really need stuff.  If anything, I’ve been getting rid of things to simplify!

Organizing keepsakes
credit: aliedwards.com

My hospital bag is pretty much packed, everything is set – I’m just waiting till she’s ready to come out!  I asked my husband the other day, “Is it bad that I want to be in pain?”, hoping that contractions will pick up into actual labor.  Of course, I may feel differently once that times comes!  But it will be pain with a purpose, an excited anticipation as I await the arrival of my baby girl.

Photograph baby with a prop and use it when she’s older.
credit: tfjdesigns.bigcartel.com

And Gwen is so excited!  She keeps leaving little gifts and pictures in the baby’s crib.  She even refuses to put away certain toys, saying she’s going to share them with her sister.  I have to remind her that her sister isn’t even here yet and it will be a while before she’ll be able to play with those toys.

Still want to make some of these swaddle blankets.
credit: danamadeit.com

I’m lucky that this pregnancy has gone so well, being high-risk and all.  I’ll be glad when I’m done with two appointments every week, feeling like I’m always peeing in a cup and get weighed for the millionth time.  I keep hoping the next appointment will be my last!

Helpful labor positions… need to brush up!
credit: fitpregnancy.com

Now, for some reason, all I want is chocolate these days so I’m off to find me some…

Healthy Fudge
credit: our-everyday-art.com
