Christmas Cards

It was a tough decision for me not to write a lengthy letter to include with Christmas cards this year, especially since there are a number of people who always say how much they appreciate it.

Last year I was very happy with our purchase from Cardstore.  I got a sweet Black Friday deal, and this year was no exception.  In addition to the sale prices, they also offer free addressing on the envelopes and free stamps – score!  You can have them mail the cards directly to the recipients, but since I like to have the kiddos decorate them and include some words of my own, I had them mailed to me.  They came packaged nicely, along with a layer of what looked like recycled paper confetti – which was so pretty I included them with the Christmas cards!

I chose pictures from throughout the year and we printed some highlights from our year directly on the inside:

Took the kiddos ice-skating for the 1st time. Not entirely sure what we think of it yet – that ice is pretty slippery!

Finally cut Josiah’s lovely blonde locks. *sniff sniff* He’s such a big boy now.

Expanded the garden, adding 5 more raised beds, grew lots of veggies & managed to freeze & can some of its bounty.

Got an early start with the camping season & had a blast visiting a variety of CT campgrounds, including a stay in Mystic. We visited Deerfield, NH for the 3rd year in a row – fun, as always!

Gwen was excited to learn she will be a big sister (again) soon… & even more excited when she learned she’ll be getting a baby sister. We’ll see how she feels about that as she gets older.

Mommy volunteered at VBS & the kiddos had a great time. I don’t think I could be a full-time teacher of other people’s kids! In similar news, we embark on another year of homeschool & Mommy’s patience gets tested a lot.

Added 2 bunnies to the family. They’re still getting used to us.  Nothing compares to your childhood pets, I’ll tell you that much. We keep threatening to put ’em in the soup pot!

After undergoing treatment for lyme, Josiah had surgery to repair his hernia. He was such a trooper!

Among our Summer fun: trips to the farmers’ market, strawberry- & peach-picking, Big Apple Circus, more camping, canoeing, playing outside, picking fresh veggies & having picnics.

Coerced into finally finishing the addition – yes, I actually have a living room ceiling after all this time – in order to re-finance our mortgage.

Gwen got a visit from the tooth fairy after losing her 1st two teeth around her 5th birthday!

Hoping to buy a new (used) car before the baby comes!

