Capturing December – part 3

I’ve been somewhat busy and distracted this month and haven’t been on top of the December Photo Challenge.  I skipped a few days, either because I totally forgot or because the lighting was crap.

credit: acontenthousewife.com

There’s something to be said for being unplugged, more present in the moment, but I’m getting behind on my homeschool FIAR posts and haven’t had a chance to share some of the holiday goodness we’ve been up to.  And Christmas is only two days away!

14. Christmas Tree – Our patchy little Charlie Brown Tree that we cut down from the yard.  Even though it’s not nice and bushy, I like how you can hang ornaments on the inside.

15. Favorite Holiday Song – “O Holy Night” is my all-time favorite song, no matter the version.  It gives me the chills every time I hear and sing it.

16. Outside Christmas Lights – We don’t go crazy with Christmas lights outside, and other than a lit wreath, this year I decided to wrap a tomato cage in lights.  I wanted to do a whole bunch of them but I couldn’t find an extension cord.

17. Presents – We’ve simplified Christmas so there aren’t a whole lot of packages under the tree, but these are a couple waiting to be delivered to friends.

19. Candy Cane – I rarely buy candy canes, and I used last year’s leftover package to make Peppermint Bark.

21. Peace – My in-laws have this funny story… they have two ornaments with their names on them and one year my father-in-law mistakenly put them on opposite sides of the tree.  My mother-in-law got offended, thinking it had some deeper meaning – was he mad at her?  what was wrong?  So now, if the ornaments are close together, the two of them are getting along.  Phil and I jokingly do the same thing with these penguin ornaments, so he made sure to put them close together.

22. Tradition – I can’t wait till Christmas morning, when I make Danish abelskiver!  My mom gave me my own pan last year, and though I sometimes make the little round pancakes throughout the year, I try to save it for the holiday.

*Days 1-5
*Days 6-13

 

