Tooth Fairy Pillows

We’ve read a few books here and there about the tooth fairy, but along with Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny, we try not to make too big a deal of the fantasy.  However, we do enjoy keeping certain bits of childhood magical and mysterious, and when Gwen gets excited about one of these concepts it’s hard not to play along.

I’m still not sure what we’re going to do about the tooth fairy, but Gwen already has a loose tooth – and yes, it’s early!  Since our last visit to the dentist I’ve been storing ideas for what to do when her tooth falls out and thought it would be a neat idea to make a little pillow with a pocket.  Better than rooting around under her pillow for a tiny tooth!  I still don’t know how we’re going to sneak into her room; she almost always wakes up when she hears her door.

In any case, there are lots of cute tooth pillow ideas, but when I stumbled across these pillows on Etsy I was determined to make one myself.  I couldn’t find a suitable pattern and finally downloaded a tooth coloring picture, which I used for my own pattern.  I got some white flannel and used bits of felt for the cheeks; embroidery thread for the eyes, mouth and names; and fabric scraps with ribbon and buttons for the back pocket.  My sewing skills aren’t the neatest, and my stitches aren’t very even, but I think they turned out rather charming!  While I was at it I went ahead and made one for Josiah, since I was on a roll. 


Why do I get excited about these silly little projects?  Phil just smiles at me, says I’m cute and that he’s sure the kids will love ’em.

A couple other ideas I’m thinking of using along with the pillows…

credit: handmadecharlotte.com
credit: bystephanielynn.com
credit: mooreminutes.com

Do you have any tooth fairy traditions?  Do share! 

