Feeling Sick…

You never want to hear from your doctor – “You’re feeling sick?  That’s great!”  But when it’s because you’ve got a little baby growing in your belly, it is a good thing. 

For Father’s Day, I had an extra present for Phil…


We had been praying and praying about whether or not to try for another baby.  Since I contracted rH disease with Gwendolyn, all my pregnancies are high-risk, and suffice to say there’s a lot to worry about.  Both of my babies were perfect, though – apparently a rarity with the disease – and I took it as a positive sign from God to continue growing our family. 

We never put a number on how many children we want; it’s more of a learn-as-you-go thing.  Three kids driving me absolutely insane?  Well, I guess it’s time to stop!  In all seriousness, though, we believe children are a blessing from God, and even though we have some extra concerns, I feel we should welcome as many as He’s willing to give us.  I myself am one of five kids and – even though there were definitely moments when I did not like my siblings – I enjoyed the companionship and comraderie growing up and even more so now that we’re adults.

This time around I started feeling exhausted early on and it was all I could do to stay awake during the day.  I find myself counting down the hours till nap- or bedtime so I can sleep, too!  I’ve also been nibbling to keep the nausea at bay, and that – combined with the fact that I have no desire to exercise lately – means I’m already in the next size up. *sigh*  I envy those women who only get cute little pregnant bellies when they’re, oh, six or seven months along; I seem to get pregnant all over.   

I’m so glad I can sew this time around.  Even though I have a bunch of maternity clothes it’s nice to think I can whip up something myself or alter something I already have.  Of course, I’ve already pinned some maternity inspiration…

Aura Joon has some great ideas for making the most out of your non-maternity clothes for as long as possible.  Granted, she’s skinny and beautiful and could make anything look good.

Especially when pregnant, I love long tops that cover my hips.  I love Craft Snob‘s t-shirt-to-maternity top makeover. 

This one from DIY Maternity is cute, too – it leaves some room for the belly to breathe but doesn’t float around your middle like a misshapen tent.

There are lots of tutorials for turning regular jeans into maternity pants and each one has its own spin.  Maternity clothes are ridiculously expensive, even when they go on sale; the idea of finding a cheap pair of jeans at a consignment store and tweaking them to fit a pregger belly sounds great to me.  Here are some of my fave tutes, courtesy of Crafty Cousins, Natty by Design &  Boz Baby, respectively:



And let’s not forget those flowy skirts! 

A Small Snippet made this skirt from a sheet!

This foldover maxi skirt from Elle Apparel looks super-comfy.

And don’t get me started on all that cute baby stuff!  I’ll leave that for another time.  Check out  my Pregger Style board for some more Pinspiration.

“Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord… Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are the children of one’s youth.  Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them!”
Psalm 127:3-5

4 thoughts on “Feeling Sick…

  1. Congrats to you! I loved your fathers day gift!!
    I struggle with how many kids as well! Although we have 3 healthy kids already I am finding it hard to get rid of my baby stuff now that Jake is already 17 mos. I just don’t know what to do…and I am uncertain if I am willing to go through another csection -sigh- ~ Katey

    1. We simplified a lot and I got rid of excess toys ‘n’ stuff through consignment, donating to the MOPS yardsale through the ladies at my church, giving things away and donating to Saver’s/Salvation Army. I only save the quality things that a) the kids still use and I want them to use and b) I want to use for future children. You should find a doctor that will do a VBAC. My sister-in-law has six boys, the second of which she had a C-section with, but her subsequent children have all been born naturally.

Comments are closed.