A Peek at the Princess…

A while back I got the idea to make a “Princess and the Pea” set for Gwendolyn to go along with the book.  I really wanted to learn how to sew dolls, and these beautiful felt dolls by Gingermelon had me salivating at the mouth.  I love the Pocket Pixie pattern she sells on Etsy and adore all the beautiful little details, like the clothes and the hair, and may break down and purchase it in the future.  But that requires a heck of a lot of hand-stitching!   

I knew that if I did some digging I’d find some free patterns out there.  While researching some amazing “Princess and the Pea” sets that other ladies created – like this one at Girl. Inspired.


– I stumbled upon Martha Stewart’s Black Apple Doll pattern.  It looked easy enough, so I saved the pattern, figuring I’d eventually get to it.

Getting out my fabric for my recent projects, I remembered I was going to make a whole bunch of little “mattresses” to go along with a fabric doll.  I figured I should make the doll first to get an idea of the dimensions, so yesterday I sat down and tackled the pattern.

Using some of mmmcraft‘s suggestions for putting together a Black Apple Doll, I sewed the legs before cutting them out and made the arms a bit longer.  I’d love to play around with the pattern and create my own unique version (I mean, dude, check out mmmcraft’s Pippi doll– isn’t that so Gwendolyn?), but this was my first go and I LOVE how it turned out.  Actually, I did make some changes from the get-go… like a different hairline, yarn braid, button bow and ruffle on the bottom of the dress.   

Meet the Princess, awaiting her bed of mattresses…


 
 

Isn’t she so sweet?  Since I sewed her up before doing the face, I settled for painting the features instead of embroidering them.  I kept staring at the blank canvas, not wanting to mess up the pretty doll I had just made!  And I need a bit of help with my not-so-invisible ladder stitch to finish hand-sewing the doll, but other than that, I’d say she isn’t too shabby!  I see some more doll-making in my future.

I hope I can hold out long enough for Gwen’s birthday in November!  When I asked her if – hypothetically – she would prefer a princess doll with open or closed eyes, she said open.  I asked her why.  She said, “So I can look at her and she can look at me.”

*Check out my Pinterest board for Gwen for more inspiration.

