The Good and The Bad

Sorry I’ve been so silent lately – it’s been busy around here!  It’s good to disconnect frequently but then I end up feeling… well… disconnected! 

I was hoping to introduce a new addition to our family – a sweet little bunny we named Clover – but he died the first night in our home. *sigh*  There’s a woman at the farmers’ market that we refer to as “the bunny lady,” because in addition to the plants she sells, she also brings along some of her rabbits for sale.  A few weeks back I was smitten by a little grey one – he just melted into my arms and settled down for a snuggle.  We didn’t see her in the following weeks, but just last weekend she was back with the bunnies.  We brought the grey one home, and since we were told they absolutely love to eat clover, that’s what we named him (after vetoing Gwen’s suggestion of “greya”).   

We got him all settled in his cage with some dry food, dandelion greens, parsley, and of course clover.  I felt bad taking him away from his siblings – he seemed to retreat and become rather shy, but I figured it would take him time to warm up to us.  The kids were so excited, petting him gently and exclaiming over the fact that “bunny didn’t bite me!” 

I was pretty restless that evening – it was rather muggy, and late at night Josiah came up with wet pants so I changed him and put him in bed with us.  This meant I had a sliver of mattress to sleep on, which is never conducive to a good night’s sleep.  I kept hearing funny noises from Clover’s cage, and since I couldn’t sleep anyway decided to check on it. 

Clover’s legs were flopping around; at first I thought he was dreaming, but quickly realized the movements were too wild and erratic.  I asked Phil to come check; when he took the bunny out of the cage, he was very limp and lethargic.  He didn’t protest when Phil checked him over, but every so often he would thrash and go into a seizure.  It did not look good, and I just sat there and cried as Phil tried to figure out what was wrong.  He finally told me to go bed so I wouldn’t have to watch, and suffice to say I didn’t fall asleep after that. 

In the morning before he left for work he told me Clover had died.  I felt sick, didn’t know what to tell the kids.  Josiah came running out of his room later, excitedly asking to see the bunny.  Phil had put him in a box so the kiddos and I could pet him and say good bye before we buried him.  I don’t believe in making up stories for kids, and they did very well with it.  Gwendolyn said, “Can we get the white one now?”  For some reason she keeps pretending that all her animals are dying. 

I was sad to realize that I didn’t even get a picture of the kiddos with Clover!  I suppose it’s for the best; I get sad all over again just thinking about it!  The Bunny Lady said we could pick another one but I’m not eager to repeat the scenario.  I had quite a few rabbits growing up, and we thought it would be great for the kids (and bunny poop is good for the gardens!), but this was an emotional reintroduction for me.     

Sandwiched inbetween these events we caught  The Big Apple Circus when it was in town – always a good time!  It’s a small venue and we both agree that we like it much better than the bigger Barnum & Bailey.  All the seats are in good view of the ring and the acts are varied and unique.

This week I’m volunteering at Vacation Bible School (VBS) in the mornings, so it’s been fun and interesting working with a group of Kindergarteners and first-graders.  Gwen was sick all last night (yay -another sleepless night!) but luckily her bouts blow over very quickly and she felt well enough to go along today.  We had to wear Christmas colors today and the only thing I could find was my Dr. Seuss “Thing 1” shirt!  People kept asking me where Thing 2 was.   

I’ve been a bit discouraged at the lack of success with GwendyLicious, my Etsy shop, so I haven’t been as ambitious with my sewing but I did get some things done here and there.  Browsing through Small Stash Sewing, I decided to try my hand at the silk scarf project.  I re-purposed one of the raw silk bridesmaid skirts from my wedding and had fun with the decorative stitching, adding a pretty border of cotton fabric.  I love how it came out


One of my out-of-state friends had a birthday last month, and though I intended it to be a first-anniversary gift, I belatedly made her an invitation ornament.  She had an autumn-themed wedding, so in addition to the curled strips of wedding invitation I added leaf confetti and an orange ribbon.  It’s a much different color scheme than the first one I made but it works wonderfully. 

 

We had a great 4th of July (more to come on that… if I get around to it) and I’m getting closer to deciding our homeschool curriculum.  So all in all, things are good!  Oh, and if you haven’t done so already it’s not too late to enter my Blissful Bites cookbook giveaway!

Phew!  How are you doing?

