Kid-Friendly PB&J Banana Dogs

I’m always on the lookout for fun new ways to serve my kids healthy meals.  A while back I pinned this idea for Banana Dogs and knew instantly the kids would love them since it combines two of their favorites: bananas and peanut butter and jelly. 

 

We don’t normally buy hot dog rolls, but I just so happened to have a pack of whole wheat rolls I had gotten on sale and put in the freezer.  I spread natural peanut butter on the inside, cut some bananas to fit, then spread all-fruit strawberry jam on top.  They don’t look as pretty as the original picture because I use jam from a jar (as opposed to the sugar-laden squeeze bottles), but they were a huge hit with the kiddos.

Another alternative sandwich idea would be to use the same ingredients in a tortilla, either as a quesadilla or a wrap.  Kid tested, Mommy approved.

