Sewing: scrappy fabric cuff bracelets

I am so excited about this next project!  Recently a faraway friend with whom I correspond found out about my sewing endeavors and said she would love something handmade.  Her birthday just happens to be coming up, but I just couldn’t imagine her using a clothespin apron, reversible headband or any of the other items I’ve sewn recently.  I decided to revisit my Pinterest boards for some inspiration.  

A while back I had pinned JCasa’s Mama Chic Wrist Cuff pattern and tutorial, probably when I was looking for some scrap-buster projects.  I decided this would be a fun time to try it.  I immediately fell in love with it and got to experiment with patchwork.  I made a couple with JCasa’s pattern and decided to whip up one of my own design, following the simple concept of starting with a wide end and narrowing down on the other side. 

 

Let me say that I am not usually a bracelet person, but I’ve been wearing my guinea pig versions constantly!  And I already got a compliment on it.  They’re comfortable, both casual and trendy at the same time, and the mood of the piece can change depending on the fabrics and buttons utilized. 

 

This has been a great way to use up some of those scraps that are too small for bigger projects but that I simply can’t bear to throw away, as well as repurposing denim (leftovers from the bibs!) or any other suitable fabric.

 
 

I plan on making a bunch more as I have time and may play around with adding ruffles, pleats or other accents.  And how about a version with pearl snaps?  I love that there’s visual appeal from every angle – whether the button closure is on the top or bottom, facing in either direction. 

 
 

