Sewing: a bunch of bibs

I try to wear my clothes as long as I can before buying new ones.  I don’t like trying on clothes, I don’t like spending money, and when I do I almost always go the consignment route.  Not only is it cheaper, it’s also eco-friendly.  Despite the fact that I’ve been able to refashion a couple tops, there’s only so much life you can get out of a hole-y garment.  

I had relegated a worn pair of jeans into work jeans – wear ’em when painting, doing yard work, etc.  I wore them canoeing the other day, and I guess sitting down in them for the long canoe ride made the holes near the pockets worse.  When we stopped for ice cream afterwards, I noticed the hole had spread into a gaping view of my rear-end. *sigh*  And let’s just say, even if were inclined to wear such a fashion (which I am not), my butt is not Daisy-Dukes-worthy.   Luckily I had a sweatshirt to tie around my waist. 

Needless to say, I wouldn’t be mending that pair of pants.  I hated to throw them away, however, so I cut off the worst parts and saved the legs.  Then I looked for some ideas for repurposing jeans.  I found some cute ideas for turning adult jeans into toddler jeans and creating cute kids’ shorts from their worn jeans.  Then I stumbled upon these denim bibs.  Ooh, I loved the idea!   

I immediately thought of the tractor fabric I used on Josiah’s crayon roll and decided to make one and see how it turned out.  Then I made five more, assembly line style, using the Purl bee’s Liberty Bib as a guide. 

I got six bibs out of my pair of jeans and I. Love. Them.  When I finally get my Etsy shop up and running again I’d love to sell these.  I like them in sets of three, like I did here – three boy bibs and three girl (or gender-neutral, like the green polka dots). 

 

 

I have so many feminine prints, it was hard to decide which to choose for the accent pieces.  I finally decided on all floral, which came out nicely.  Each set is backed in different fabric – a bright blue corduroy for the boys and a pink and white polka dot cotton for the girls.  I tried to pick a complementary thread color, and each one has a different color.  And for the finishing touch, a pretty pearl snap at the back.  It’s all in the details! 

I’ve been working on a few more things here and there and have been contemplating listing some of my handmade items here beforehand, if anyone is interested.  Feedback?

For those of you interested in the recipe I posted recently for the Peanut Butter Bliss Pudding, I have something exciting on the horizon – so stay tuned!  Let’s just say it involves a certain cookbook.  And a review.  And maybe a giveaway.  Of said cookbook.  ***squeal!!!***

3 thoughts on “Sewing: a bunch of bibs

    1. Thanks! I’ll bet you could think of other things on which to use the same technique. Cool napkins or washcloths? Headbands, bracelets, belts… oh, the possibilities!

Comments are closed.