Refashion: sweater into pleated tank top

Inspired by my last refashion I decided to revisit my mending pile.  A while back I got this pretty, open-weave sweater at a consignment store and have gotten a lot of use out of it.  Little by little, however, I noticed some snags and holes in various places and I threw it aside, full of good intention to fix it within a reasonable amount of time.  And there it sat.

I finally decided to seize the day and eliminate my mending pile!  icandy handmade has this neat little sweater-into-cardigan refashion (also on an open-weave sweater), and I set out to do the sleeves in the same fashion in order to save the pretty ruffled cuffs that match the hem at the waist.  Well, I didn’t take into account the fact that the cuffs are rather fitted at the wrists and ended up being a wee bit too snug on my upper arms. *sigh*  So… I cut off the whole sleeve, leaving a bit of raw edge to turn under and hem at the armholes.

With the sleeves, I cut them open and laid them flat, cutting them into little strips.  Then I put them right sides together at the short ends and sewed all the little pieces into one long piece, after which I folded it in half lengthwise and sewed down the entire length of it, creating a tube.  After turning it inside out, I made little ruffle pleats all along the front neckline and a bit down the front.  I overlapped the edge of the current neckline, sewed at the edge and – voila! – a cute little tank top! 

  

I love how it turned out.  I showed Phil and he said I’m getting really good at this – awwww!  tatertots & jello has another sweater refashion using a scarf and some trim that I’d love to try.  I actually don’t have very many sweaters so I may have to go thrifting.  Have you jumped about the refashion/repurpose bandwagon?  I’d love to see what you’ve created! 

One thought on “Refashion: sweater into pleated tank top

Comments are closed.