Sewing: a zippered pouch

I have been scared to attempt any sewing projects that had a zipper but figured it was high time I faced my fears.  I used Noodlehead’s Gathered Clutch Tutorial – the same concept I applied when making the wheat berry heating packs – and for the most part it was pretty easy.  

Probably the most time-consuming aspects are picking the fabric(s) and cutting out all of the pieces.  And I wasn’t too crazy about all the little steps putting in the divider and credit card pockets.  I would love to try something similar but would probably opt for simplifying the interior, perhaps sewing one pocket to the lining as in one of the last tutorial photos.

credit: haptreeandme.blogspot.com

In looking at various sewing tutorials involving zippers, it seems you either love or hate your zipper foot.  This was my first time using it and I wasn’t crazy about its performance.  Though the foot is designed to sew as close to the zipper as possible without getting caught up in the zipper teeth, I found it didn’t keep the fabric pressed down under the foot, so as the fabric fed through the machine it pulled away, messing up the seamline and creating little folds.

All in all, I’m pleased with the way it turned out.  I’m imagining all sorts of other fabric and zipper combinations.  In the market for some colorful zippers yourself?  I had heard only good things about zipit on Etsy and finally chose a 10 pack of 8″ zippers in an array of sumptuous colors.  I was beyond pleased!  Not only was the owner super nice and helpful, she threw in some extra goodies, including one of her kaleidoscope zipper pulls which I used on the purse.

 

Here are some other zippered sewing projects that are on my would-be-nice-to-make list:
Oh Happy Day’s thrifted fabric pouches
Noodlehead’s boy’s drawstring backpack from khaki pants
A Lemon Squeezy Home’s sleepover pillowcase
The Cottage Home’s boxy dopp kit
The Purl Bee’s zippered hand warmers

