Peanut Butter Bliss Pudding

I was sooo sick for a few days recently.  It  hit me out of the blue; I have no idea where it came from!  Usually the kiddos bring something home from Sunday School or a visit with other kids and pass it on, but this time it only affected me.  Luckily Phil was able to stay home for a whole day because I was seriously out-of-commission – weak, dizzy, nauseous.  Let’s just say the potty and I became intimately acquainted; I told Phil if I get sick like this every couple of months it might help me keep the weight off! 

There was a brief period where I thought I would never like food again.  Just the smell of anything made me feel like throwing up.  Fortunately – or perhaps unfortunately? – my appetite has returned and I tried a new recipe.

After watching “Forks Over Knives,” a documentary on plant-based diets, I decided to check some of their recommended cookbooks out of the library.  First up was Blissful Bites by Christy Morgan.  I’m not crazy about the amount of recipes containing tofu since it’s not a staple in our diet due to my concern over soy products, but I decided a little bit wouldn’t hurt.  I made my own version of Peanut Butter-Like Mousse, cutting it in half since I only had one package of tofu.

1 package tofu 
1/3-1/2c natural peanut butter (honestly, I didn’t measure!)
1/2c rapadura (maple syrup would be heavenly, though I’d use less)
1/2T tapioca flour 
1t vanilla extract
pinch sea salt

Blend everything in a food processor, scraping down sides as necessary, until smooth.  Chill.  Of course, I licked the spatula and it tasted great as-is, but it’s nice cold from the fridge as well.  And what pairs perfectly with peanut butter?  Chocolate!  I topped mine with dark chocolate chips and added sliced bananas for the kiddos.

 

I’m so bummed that I had to return the book to the library before I had a chance to try some more of the recipes, but I did find some online and am eager to try Coconut Bliss Granola and Sage-Infused Polenta Fries.

One thought on “Peanut Butter Bliss Pudding

  1. Thanks for checking out my book. Blissful Bites is VERY kid-friendly. I think you will enjoy it! I do a feature on my blog called What Kids Love that feature parents and their favorite things out of the book. My next one will have lots more soy-free recipes for ya!

Comments are closed.