Fluffy Chocolate Yogurt with Chocolate Granola

I’m always on the lookout for healthy-yet-yummy snacks or desserts for us.  I don’t usually buy packaged items at the grocery store, but whenever we pass the Jell-O section at the grocery store Josiah says “jelly! jelly!” (he can’t seem to get the “o” on the end).  I sometimes let them pick one of the sugar-free varieties, and last week we picked one out and I got some whipping cream to make fresh whipped cream (though I almost got lazy and bought Cool Whip).

We had some leftover whipped cream after using up the Jell-O and then I remembered a recipe for Chocolate Delight Yogurt that I had pinned a while ago while on the lookout for yogurt ideas.  It’s just one recipe among a slew of other yummy yogurt concoctions like Red Grapes with Nut Butter Yogurt DipBanana Nut Butter Honey YogurtBanana Split Yogurt and Mint Chocolate Chip Yogurt.


So I mixed some homemade yogurt with homemade chocolate syrup then folded in the leftover whipped cream (in a 1:1 ratio with the yogurt – probably a cup or so of each).  The night before I made a batch of chocolate granola (using the greater amount of oats and less sweetener), which I sprinkled on top of the yogurt – soooo goooo!  The kiddos and I gobbed it all up.

4 thoughts on “Fluffy Chocolate Yogurt with Chocolate Granola

  1. I like your yogurt dish so much more than the jello with artificial sweetener (not so good for people, especially children…). It got me wondering if we can make jello from scratch… Will get back on that one!

    1. I’ve never done it, but you can make jello from scratch as long as you use gelatin (it comes in unflavored packets). If you want a vegan alternative I think you can also use agar agar, but I don’t know how they compare. I’ve used gelatin to make marshmallows, but have never actually made jello itself.

  2. I like your chocolate yogurt. You may want to share your recipes on Yumterest.com. Yumterest is a new place to discover and share all things yummy. It is a great site to share yummy recipes, yummy foods, yummy places and many more. You could call it “Pinterest for all things yummy”

    Below is the link to the site.

    Yumterest.com

    Thank you,
    The Frugal Mama

Comments are closed.