More {natural, non-candy} Easter Ideas

I was feeling a bit bummed about my lack of Easter goodies for the kiddos even though we’ve been determined to go easy on the presents.  At first I was like, Those crayon rolls are awesome, they don’t need anything else!    And it’s true, they don’t need anything else and they’ll probably get goodies from the grandparents… but I still love spoiling my family on special occasions!

After sharing some of my Easter pinspirations the other day I found a few more ideas that I got excited about.  I haven’t taken any pictures because I’m still putting them together [even though I should be in bed], but I wanted to share in case you’re still scrounging for ideas.   

The other day we were working on 2 Teaching Mommie’s The 12 Days of Easter unit and on day 4 we used bubbles as a metaphor for our prayers going up to heaven.  We didn’t have any bubble solution leftover from last Summer, so I had to open up some new packages that I had put away in my gift cabinet.  They were originally given to the kids but they had these big plastic cartoon figure wands and I didn’t really care for them.  And they don’t even work very well. 

Fast forward to today, trying to think of what other trinkets I can make for the kids, and it hits me – bubble wands and bubble solution!

credit: kleas.typepad.com

I love Kleas’ homemade bead and wire bubble wands, which I’m using as inspiration to bedazzle some wire bent into shapes (a heart for Gwen and a star for Josiah).

credit: ashleyannphotography.com

I’m pairing the wands with Under the Sycamore’s diy experiment of “the world’s best bubbles,” tinted pink for Gwen and blue for Josiah (though since the dishwashing liquid I used was green, Gwen’s is orangey and Josiah’s is greenish). 

credit: probablyactually.wordpress.com

These sleepy bunny goody bags from Probably Actually were so stinkin’ cute and looked so easy to put together – especially since there’s a free template to download – I knew I had to make ’em for the kiddos.  The ones I made each contain a little bag of colors-of-faith jelly beans, but other than that they’re pretty empty.  I was going to put the bubble wands inside until I decided to make the bubble solution, too, so now I’ll probably tie those together.   

credit: purlbee.com

If I had thick enough felt I would have been all over these Super Simple Felt Easter Baskets from Purl Bee.  Even the filling is felt!  There’s always next year…

credit: amazon.com

Yesterday I was out running errands looking for some last-minute holiday items.  I can never find what I need right away, but of course I always see something I can use and end up buying other stuff.  I was excited when I saw a whole bunch of Tovolo ice pop molds; I’ve had a set on my Amazon wish list for a while now and scored the rocket molds (in red) for $7!  Homemade popsicles, here we come!

2 thoughts on “More {natural, non-candy} Easter Ideas

  1. I hear that “joy” dishwashing liquid makes the best bubbles. I’m undecided though if I want to buy that or my earth friendly one to make bubbles for my DD. I may have to try it out first with the eco stuff :)

    1. I wasn’t too crazy about the bubbles mine made; I think I used Palmolive, whatever I had on hand. The bubbles pop right away, although the ones that last tend to get big, which is cool. I think maybe it’s too watery and I need to add more soap.

Comments are closed.