Preschool: V is for Very Hungry Caterpillar

We’re supposed to be on the letter W this week, but it’s been a bit different around here since Daddy has been in South Carolina, training for his department.  I dropped him off at the airport last weekend and felt the ache in my throat as I hugged him goodbye.  I don’t think I’ve ever been apart from him for more than a couple days!  I felt so silly, moping around for the entire day, bawling my eyes out as soon as the kiddos and I got home (they proceeded to point and laugh as I cried in the rocking chair). 

Since I wanted some distractions and company this week to get my mind off being without my hubby, we did things a bit differently.  I didn’t do any school – no workbooks, no printables, nothing planned.  We had our share of reading books and art projects, but virtually zero effort on my part – it was so nice!  The kiddos got to see their friends when Nikki came over with her kiddos, and we breezed through the morning talking and visiting, scolding our children and cleaning up their messes – good times!  I kept thinking I would have a whole bunch of time to write up about preschool the previous week, but my time got eaten up elsewhere. 

Last week was kind of a hodge podge of ideas.  For some reason I had two different ideas down for the letter V – one mountains and valleys, the other valentines.  I had already started accumulating valentine ideas since we had just celebrated Valentine’s Day the previous week, so I decided to carry it over into the next.  I filled in the rest of the week with The Very Hungry Caterpillar-themed activities.

Bible
The good ol’ Good Samaritan was the Bible story of the week.  We read the story in the 100 Bible Stories, 100 Bible Songs, did a hidden pictures coloring page and colored and assembled a story sequence coloring page

For each Bible story in the book there’s an accompanying song, and we listened to “Love Your Neighbor As Yourself” over and over. 

I used the printable from Totally Tots’ in my heart section for our Bible verse, which was 1 Samuel 16:7 – Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.

We got it late, but I requested a Veggie Tales movie from the library to coincide with the lesson, and the kids enjoyed The Wonderful Wizard of Ha’s.  Every week I request supplemental materials from the online library system that I might not otherwise have at home or find at my local library.  And of course I throw in some things for me too – like the latest season of Castle.   

V is for Valentine
We focused on valentines for one day, using all the valentine-related printables and activities we had used on Valentine’s Day and implementing a few more from Confession’s of a Homeschooler’s Pre-K Letter V week.  We had a Do-A-Dot page, pre-writer tracing pages, letter hunt and counting cards. 

 

 

I also tried something new with the word cards.  Instead of just having Gwen trace the letters and then match up the picture cards with the word cards, I placed them around the living room and she had to find them one at a time.  I told her she had to point to each one with her magic wand – and push the button to make the magical sound, or it didn’t count! – and she would bring it back to the table, match it up with the correct word on the tracing page, then trace the word and say the letters. 

 

It took longer this way, but she had so much fun!  A couple times I found myself getting a bit impatient because she was frolicking around, searching for cards that were quite honestly in plain view, but I figured I should count myself lucky that she was having fun with school work. *grin*

V is for Very Hungry Caterpillar
Have you seen some of the ideas on Pinterest for The Very Hungry Caterpillar?  I bookmarked a few of the simpler ideas and utilized the wonderful themed printables from 1+1+1=1.

I think this week I had more food ideas than anything!  Two mornings in the row we had caterpillar-related food; the kiddos got grape caterpillars alongside their pancakes and apple slice caterpillars with their cereal. 



I evened it out on the other end of the spectrum with two butterfly-themed foods: butterfly snack bags and a butterfly-shaped sanwich.  

 

I think maybe their food tastes better when it’s made to look like something else, kind of like the theory that my food tastes better when someone else makes it for me.

I had a bunch of crafts in mind, and they were all fun and easy.  We made pom pom caterpillars and Gwen even helped me thread the pom poms. 

 

I got the idea for this super-easy fingerprint caterpillar, and just so happened to nab some Crayola paints on sale at the craft store.  I did one too!  Josiah just ended up finger painting… finger smudging? 


I’m a sucker for handprint crafts and loved the idea for this handprint butterfly, though ours were slightly more personalized with paint all over the wings and a craft stick and pipe cleaner for the body section. 

 

Gwen did some tracing in her Kumon book, we put together a little cut ‘n’ paste mini book about bugs, cut-and-paste life cycle of a butterfly, and she had a lot of fun making a life-cycle-of-a-butterfly wheel

 
 

Then we started in on the Very Hungry Caterpillar printables with pre-writer tracing pages, word/color matching and a numbered puzzle showing the caterpillar turn into a butterfly.


 

Since she had so much fun with the valentine word cards, we did the same for the caterpillar cards – and there were more of them!  She went around, wand in hand, waving its magic as she found each word. 

 


She even put her own twist on the activity – when she found a word, she would bring it back to the table, find the corresponding word on the tracing sheet, and proceed to wave her wand again at the matching word as she said it.  She cracks me up! 

The kiddos both had fun going through the story and using our play food as props; they had to find the food that the caterpillar ate next (we had to improvise for some of the items).


Color

Sometimes one of the elements of the week doesn’t really go along with anything else – like the color grey.  Yeah, I guess it’s a color you need to become familiar with – like a grey sky could mean impending doom, or a storm at least – but it kind of stood on its own.  We did some activity pages and an elephant dot-to-dot, and that’s about it. 

Rhyme
We stuck with the rhyme from last week, Queen of Hearts.  It’s quite catchy and Gwen remembered it.

Bulletin Board

Book Basket
Theme/Vocab
Be Mine, Be Mine, Sweet Valentine
Valentine’s Day
The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Letter
Octavia and Her Purple Ink Cloud
If You Take a Mouse to the Movies
Giving
The Awful Aardvarks Go to School
I Love You Always and Forever
Move!
The Giving Tree
The Fairies’ Alphabet Book
Olivia… and the Missing Toy
The Velveteen Rabbit
My “v” Book

Number
Olivia Counts

Color
Silverlicious
A Day With No Crayons
The Land of Gray Wolf
The Blue and the Gray

DVDs
The Velveteen Rabbit
The Very Hungry Caterpillar
Valiant

Linking Up…

Tot School

7 thoughts on “Preschool: V is for Very Hungry Caterpillar

  1. Love the Very hungry caterpillar crafts! Jacobs first birthday in a week from today and we are doing that as a theme! I needed some ideas in what kind of craft we could do with a few of the children and the fingerprint or butterfly idea is perfect!! What do you out your fingerprints in?

    1. We didn’t really do anything with the fingerprint pictures once we made them. The kiddos just dipped their fingers into little craft paint trays and pressed them onto some cardstock-like paper I had lying around. I had some other caterpillar craft ideas on Pinterest, like egg carton caterpillars and paper chain caterpillars. There are so many ideas!

  2. Brilliant!!! I am a newbie fan of your blog and will be following closely from now on. I plan to focus on La Chenille qui fait des trous (French translation of the very hungry catapillar) with my children and have been collecting ideas. I particularly love your food ideas. I will be linking back to your site (and this post) when I blog about our catepillar activities.

    1. I’m so happy you found some inspiring ideas! That’s one of the reasons I started writing about our homeschool adventures – because other people had inspired me and I thought the things we do might give someone else some ideas. Good luck!

Comments are closed.