Natural Marshmallows

I’ve made homemade marshmallows in the past – they’re surprisingly easy!  I think my first attempt was the Martha Stewart Candy-Cane Marshmallows – good, but not nearly as pretty as the picture! 

Since removing many refined foods from our diet I’ve wanted to try a natural marshmallow recipe using honey or sweetener other than white sugar, and I finally decided to give it a go with rapadura.  We had just dropped off Phil at the airport and I was really sad, craving a treat to lift my spirits.  When we got home I decided to make homemade hot chocolate and – on a whim – a batch of marshmallows.  I dug out a recipe for Basic Vanilla Marshmallows that I’ve used in the past with success; the last time we made it I tried the chocolate swirl version – yummy! 

I used the amounts called for in the half batch so I wouldn’t have a huge pan of marshmallows staring me in the face, begging me to eat them, and simply substituted rapadura for the white sugar and honey for the corn syrup.  Since the natural sugar has the original molasses content, it makes for a unique color and flavor.  I was surprised how much the mixture lightened during the mixing process!   

Letting the mixture boil on the stove till the soft ball stage while the gelatin softens in the mixing bowl…

 

After the sugar mixture reaches the correct temperature, you can see how the color and texture change during the mixing process…

 

  

I have to be honest, I like it best before it sets, when it’s like marshmallow fluff. 

We put some in our hot chocolate right away and I spread the rest in a buttered parchment paper-lined pan.


I let it sit on the counter all day then cut it into squares, covering all sides with a mixture of powdered rapadura and coconut flour.

Next time we go camping I’m going to bring along some homemade marshmallows, homemade graham crackers and dark chocolate to make s’mores.  They are, after all, a camping rite of passage.

Any other suggestions how I can eat them?     

3 thoughts on “Natural Marshmallows

  1. I have never heard of rapadura! This sounds wonderful, of all the things I see people make, marshmallows have me in awe every time, lol. I love marshmallows, I should try it sometime, maybe homemade Easter peeps! Now I have to do it, so I can impress myself, haha.

    1. Rapadura is supposed to be one of the most natural sugar sources. It’s the Rapunzel brand and its whole name is Organic Rapadura Whole Cane Sugar… but I prefer “rapadura”! Since you mentioned Peeps – which are so good dipped in chocolate – I’m thinking of dipping marshmallows in dark chocolate next time I make them. Stop giving me ideas!

Comments are closed.