Valentine’s Day

I’m so proud of myself – I managed to make Valentine’s Day meaningful without an overload of sugary treats!  And believe you me, I had some treats in mind – nanaimo bars and chocolate cherry bark were at the top of my list.  I did make a couple lolliflowers for the kids with organic fruit lollipops; they were probably more excited about those than anything else (it’s the little things, right?).

Valentine’s morning actually began the night before, throwing paper hearts on the floor after the kids went to bed.  I cut a whole bunch of paper hearts out of construction and scrapbook papers after reading about this lovely heart paper trail tradition.  I’m going to save the hearts and do it every year!  I heard Gwen get up before me, slowly walking across the living room as she discovered the trail leading from her bedroom door to the kitchen table and the treats that waited there.

 


When everyone finally woke up, I made our usual pancakes tinted pink, strawberry smoothies and heart-shaped fruit kabobs (or fruit lollipops, which sound more yummy).  I’m always psyched when I find why-didn’t-I-think-of-that alternatives to traditional treats.  If you don’t have lollipop sticks, use popsicle sticks!  Kid-tested, Mommy-approved.

 

The heart strings from last year were hanging behind the table and the waxed paper hearts that we made last week were filtering in the sunshine beautifully like cheerful little suncatchers.  The kids helped me pick the crayon colors to melt between the waxed paper and then tried to help me shave the crayons but I ended up doing most of it myself.  I hung them from a branch we found in the yard; don’t ya just love natural decorations?

 

When I saw the idea for a Prayer Rock Valentine I immediately looked around the house for some rocks and fabric to make them for the kiddos.  I’m always looking for ways to incorporate prayer and Christian values into our lives and this was a sweet project.

 

 

The kiddos messily made handprint hearts for the grandparents…

… which we gave to them along with some twig and felt arrows that I had strewn on the table and around the house for decorations.  I read a book on the history of Valentine’s Day to the kiddos and explained how Cupid was the Roman god of love, shooting his magic arrows.  Gwen wasn’t too sure about that.

 

Each of the kids got coupon cards and I put together a little take-out-and-movie night-in gift together for Phil but we still haven’t had time for the two of us.  Go figure.  I tried folding this origami heart love note but failed miserably, opting instead to write a note to my little family on this paper airplane and fly it around the dinner table.

It was a fun day and I’m glad I was able to share it with my family.  Growing up, my mother always made us kids feel special with a bag of goodies for each of us and I like doing things to spoil my loved ones.  I don’t need a special occasion to tell them I love them, but it’s nice to take advantage of the opportunity.

See my Valentine’s Day and Love & Romance Pinterest boards for more inspiration.

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day

    1. They were really fun to make… especially wrapping with the embroidery thread! What’s nice about making crafts with the kids (or even by myself) is that we can enjoy them but then pass some of them on to others so we don’t have a house full of decorations!

Comments are closed.