Candy Cane Playdough

Sometimes, no matter how badly you want to do something, you have to schedule it in order to get it done. And no, I’m not talking about sex.  Although… (pause)… maybe that’s not such a bad idea…

Anyway… I’ve been wanting to make candy cane playdough ever since I first saw the idea and I’ve had it bookmarked for a while now.  Of course, now that it’s the holiday season, I see it popping up all over the place!  I’ve pinned a few recipes for playdough on my kids’ crafts pinterest board and have already made a batch – it lasts forever!

Well, our advent calendar activity for yesterday was to do a sticky, glittery Christmas craft, and candy cane playdough fit the bill!  I figured I’d kill two birds with one stone and make extra to go with Christmas gifts.  I did scale down the recipe because I didn’t want a huge batch – just some for the kids and a bit extra to give away.  I did the stovetop part and the kids helped me knead glitter into the dough – and that was the extent of their helpfulness.  Don’t you love crafting with your kids? 

Both times I’ve made homemade playdough the flour seemed to clump in the pan; I don’t know if there’s a way to prevent this, but it seems to knead out pretty smoothly.  I didn’t have peppermint scent to use, but I did have spearmint essential oil – it’s all mint, right? 

At first I just rolled balls of dough and stacked them in the jars (wait… Josiah did come running back to help with this part) then decided to twist them together.  It was super-easy – I took the four balls of dough from each jar (two of each color), rolled them till they were the height of the jar, stacked them so the opposite colors were next to each other, then twisted them before putting them back in.  

I didn’t feel like hole-punching tags and tying them on with string, so I opted for overlapping ribbon and hotglueing the ends, then attaching these cute vintage-y Christmas tags on the front.  I don’t have fabric hanging around so I got a few pieces of patterned tissue paper to put on top of the jars.

 

I love how they turned out. The project itself is versatile – think red and pink for Valentine’s Day, orange and black or purple for Halloween, etc.  You could throw in a mini rolling pin and cookie cutters or put together a whole play dough box!

Sharing at…

    Crafty Christmas at RaisingOranges

4 thoughts on “Candy Cane Playdough

  1. Your candy cane playdough came out super cute – and what a FUN (and pretty) gift!! Thanks for linking up to TGIF!! Merry Christmas,
    Beth =-)

  2. OK what an AWESOME gift idea for little ones!! I’m pinning this for next year.

    And I had to giggle at your scheduling comment….when you have kids you find yourslef having to schedule things you never had to schedule before! Ha!

    Thanks for sharing at Thrifty Thursday!! Hope you had a fantastic Holiday Season!

Comments are closed.