Thankful

We have a ritual – every night at dinnertime or bedtime, I ask everyone what his or her favorite part of the day was.  Gwen usually thinks about it and gives me a thoughtful answer.  Josiah goes, “Hm… tractor.”  More often than not, Phil will say “Spending time with my family.”  And while I’m usually looking for something more – a specific part of the day – I have to agree with his sentiment.

Whenever I think about those things for which I am grateful, it always comes down to people.  Family.  Friends who are family.  Special moments comprised of spending time with loved ones, sharing love and life and laughter, creating memories.   

I am so thankful for him:

And these two things:

I could go on and list some of the more material things I’m glad to have – like my new washer, the fabulous cowboy boots I got for my birthday, the talents God has given me so I can knit and craft… but there’s nothing in the world I’d rather have more than my family.

Looking forward to spending the day with family tomorrow (or, rather, today – eeek, is it that late?).  Remembering those who aren’t with us and thanking God for his blessings and provision.  And now I need to get my butt in bed so I’ll be able to handle family. 

Happy Thanksgiving to you all!

1 Thessalonians 5:18
“Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Psalm 100:4b
“Be thankful to Him and bless His name.  For the Lord is good, oh the Lord is good.”

Psalm 107:1
“Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever.”

