Happy Birthday Josiah!

I can’t believe it’s been two years

Josiah was born three weeks early, two days after his big sister’s second birthday.  Both of my children were born the week of Thanksgiving; they are truly my Thanksgiving babies and I’m so thankful God placed them into my arms.  I get a little emotional around this time of year! 


Where did my babies go?  As time has passed, as I’ve been counting down the days to Josiah’s second birthday, I’ve been amazed that he’s continued to nurse this long.  Gwen self-weaned sometime after one year – sixteen, perhaps eighteen months?  I don’t remember offhand; I’d have to get out her calendar where I wrote everything down {insert self-deprecating smile}.  Converting his crib into a big-boy bed, taking away the paci, listening as his vocabulary has taken off, they’re all reminders that he’s growing up.  But nursing is one of the last vestiges of his babyhood. 


I was reacquanting myself with some of the benefits of toddler nursing and came upon this quote by Former Surgeon General, Dr. Antonia Novello: “It’s the lucky baby, I feel, who continues to nurse until he’s two.”  I smiled.  I have a lucky baby.

And I’m lucky to have him. 

I will admit, I don’t always feel lucky that I’ve been “blessed with quotes” (“blessed”) – as my husband and I often joke – when my children aren’t the little angels they should be.  And today, Josiah peed in his pants twice, had a huge hissy fit and refused to nap then pooped in his pants and got it on the bathroom rug (need I go on?)… but I try to keep it all in perspective.  Key word: try

I’m behind in posting about last week’s preschool so we’ll see if I get around to their birthdays, but I did take advantage of some of the tips I found on Pinterest.  I put balloons on their bedroom floor during the night and taped crepe paper streamers across their doorways; I thought for sure they’d bust through it but instead they crawled underneath!  Each of them got a birthday banner on his or her chair with a present on the table (and Gwen got wings on her chair, too) with another little gift at night. 

Take a gander at my pinterest board for other party ideas; I’m cooking up some ideas for their family birthday party the day after Thanksgiving.  When will I have time to make the cake?

Okay… just one more look…

 

