Prayer Pail

Photobucket

One of my Pinterest finds was this neat idea for a Prayer Pail.  I was looking for a way to teach my children about the importance of prayer and help us incorporate it into our daily lives – at least, beyond Dear God thank you for this day bless this food to our bodies amen.  Our standard meal prayer.  Even Gwen has it down pat. 

I used one of the last little metal buckets we got in bulk as favors for our candy bar at our wedding ten years ago.  To this day I’m still a little disappointed I never got any of that candy…

In any case, I pretty much followed the original directions, using double-sided tape with a piece of craft paper.  Then I spelled out “Prayer Pail” in transfer letters, added some rhinestones and ribbon on the handle for embellishments, and put a couple verses on back:

 

I Thessalonians 5:17 – Pray without ceasing.
Ironically, our Bible verse for preschool this week!

Philippians 4:6 – Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God.

We used the large craft sticks – like tongue-depressors – and wrote our prayers on them with glitter markers (we keep extra in the pail in case we think of new ones).  I asked the kids if they had an ideas so they would feel involved – Josiah wants to pray for a tractor, by the way – and most nights after dinner we each pick a prayer (trying not to peek!). 

This is a neat way for putting prayer into practice, visualizing the prayers themselves, and involving even the youngest family members.

10 thoughts on “Prayer Pail

  1. This is a great idea! Our dinner prayer is pretty similar to yours: “Dear Jesus, Please bless this food to our bodies and thank you for the time we have together. Amen.” It would be nice to add another layer to it! Thanks for the idea.

  2. This is AWESOME!!! I love practical ideas lik this! In our family we keep Christmas cards & we pick one withour daily family devotions to pray for. Thanks for linking up to TGIF! Have a GREAT Thanksgiving & see you next week,
    Beth =-)

  3. What a great idea. My dd (15) for the first time EVER attended a prayer meeting and they have all the requests typed up on a sheet of paper. That meeting…it just made me realize how much more I could be doing. I think that this would work well with the names on slips of paper, where you just pull out a piece. Thanks for bringing this to my attention :)

    1. Hi Brittney! I tried to comment on your letter E week but your comment for wasn’t working.

      My son is all about the pouring stuff, too! I purposefully don’t expect him to do much of the preschool stuff with his big sister, but involve him in the crafts and simpler stuff.

      Not a week goes by that we don’t get to everything I’ve “planned.”

  4. So cute! What a neat idea – we’ll have to try to incorporate this into our daily prayer time (we usually say something that we are thankful for that day). :)

Comments are closed.