Chore Chart for Kiddos

For a while now I’ve been wanting to make some sort of chore chart for Gwen.  I figure having the visual helps reinforce the things I ask of or expect from her on a daily basis, as well as motivate her to complete tasks. 

While searching for homeschool resources, I did come upon various printable charts – but most of them were pretty basic graphs with simple word descriptions, not very impressive for a kiddo who doesn’t yet know how to read. 

Earlier today, when going through my binder of craft ideas for the kiddos, I came upon an article I had ripped out of a Parents magazine for cute chore charts with corresponding pictures – just like this one.  To my frustration, the one pictured in the article was not on the website – but there are some other blank charts.  Then I thought, why not make my own?

Earlier today I was delighted to find this Funny Font Book, which helps younger children differentiate between letters when there are so many typefaces and versions of the same letter.  I immediately downloaded it, re-sized the pages so I got four per printout on photo paper, cut out the pages, punched holes, and secured them with a metal ring.  Hm, metal rings… maybe I could make a similar flipbook for chores.   

I googled “flip chore charts with pictures”, and though it’s not what I originally had in mind, one of the results landed me at Proverbial Girl Duck and her post about positive rewards and chore charts.  I love the system she implemented, and was even further delighted when I realized she downloaded it from Homeschool Creations – already a favorite of mine!   

I printed out the chore chart (in purple) along with the chore cards on photo paper, picked out a few of the cards that might go in each category (morning chores, afternoon chores, or those for reward), and cut small pieces of velcro to attach to the front and back of each card. 

On the backs of the cards I put a star sticker, so when the chore is completed it can be turned around and – voila! – you see a star. 


I also pasted the main chore chart onto a piece of purple construction paper, just for fun.  I was going to put her name somewhere, but I’m not sure if I want to use marker, stickers, whatever – maybe I’ll leave that up to Gwen.

Tomorrow I’ll introduce her chore chart, along with Proverbial Girl Duck‘s idea for “warm fuzzies” – pom poms earned for doing reward chores or good behavior during the day, which when the jar is full can be turned in for a movie night or other surprise.  


I’m not sure where it would best be displayed – figured it would get messed with on the fridge, and she would probably end up playing with it if left in her room.  Can’t wait to see what she thinks of it – getting “warm fuzzies” just thinking about it!

One thought on “Chore Chart for Kiddos

  1. Hi there!

    It’s great to see that the ideas that worked so well for us work for another family too. Let us all know how it works out! I’d suggest finding a location at her eye level that is located somewhere you both pass all the time during the day. Especially someplace where there’s nothing else visual going on. That’s helped us not to forget about it completely!

    Have fun!

    P.S. I am no longer adding posts to proverbial girl duck (although I’m so glad you found it helpful!) and have started blogging at proverbialhomemaker.com. I’d love it if you’d stop by and say hello!

    Tauna

Comments are closed.