Seriously Good Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

A while back I got a big ol’ box of Quaker Oats at BJ’s.  The box empties quickly since we often have oatmeal for breakfast (topped with blueberries and honey), and I grind the oats into oat flour and use it in cooking and baking.  Crushing the box for the recycle bin, I noticed a recipe on the flap for Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies.  I tore it off, planning to play around with the ingredients.  I had a really ripe banana that I figured would make a nice addition. 

Sometimes when I make healthier versions of treats they end up tasting… well… healthy.  You want cookies to be a little more on the decadent side of things.  Well, when I tasted the dough straight from the mixer, I knew we had a winner.  And a bite (or two.  or three.) of the moist cookies after they came out of the oven confirmed the fact – this recipe is a keeper.  They were a hit with Phil and the kiddos, too.

Follow the basic recipe linked above, using my ingredients – adding the banana after the eggs (no need to mash it first – just make sure to remove the peel):

1 stick butter, softened + 1/4 c coconut oil
3/4 c Sucanat + 1/4 c Splenda
2 eggs (organic cage free, preferably)
1 t vanilla
1 ripe banana
1 c wheat flour + 1/2 c oat flour
1 t baking soda
1 t cinnamon
1/2 t salt
2 1/2 c oats
1 c raisins

Sorry for the lack of pictures proving their mouth-watering goodness.

One thought on “Seriously Good Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Comments are closed.