Finished: Lacy Knit Scarf

Phew! I finally finished the scarf I started working on about a month ago.  Whenever I browse patterns in knitting books, I always have a laugh at the sections entitled something like, “One-Hour Projects” or “Weekend Knits.”  How about “Super Easy Knits That Will Still Take You A Month To Finish Because You Have Other Things To Do Rather Than Sit Down & Knit Straight.”

I got the recipe… er, pattern (can you tell I have food on the brain?)… from 101 Designer One-Skein Wonders, and while the yarn I used wasn’t what it called for, I still like the end-result.  I kept starting again with bigger needles to get a nice, open weave, but I probably could  have gone up another size or two.  In any case, I love how the scarf has a natural curl.    

I got to practice some new techniques, without totally frying my brain.  After having to glance back and forth from my knitting to the instructions, I finally memorized it, which made things go more quickly.  Until, of course, one of the kiddos distracted me and I had to stop and think about where I was.  Repeatedly.  So, this is a one-of-a-kind piece, peppered with a few of my trademark mistakes.

The kiddos happily modeled it for me:

   

I’m giving this as a gift; I don’t think She reads my blog, but if so, try to act surprised and overjoyed when you receive it!

