Recipe: Whipped Butter

I’m not a bread-and-butter kind of gal – I prefer some crusty French bread with a plate of olive oil and crushed garlic.  But Phil likes butter on cornbread, banana bread, johnnycakes, occasionally toast, and it can be mighty tasty in a pinch.  It’s also convenient for company.

I use butter for baking, and tend to keep it either in the fridge or freezer – but who wants to scrape a piece of cold butter on their bread or pancakes?  In the past I’ve sprung for those tubs of spreadable butter, but my sister-in-law gave me this great recipe for whipped butter.  It boosts the nutritional value and flavor of regular butter, and while it does harden when put in the fridge, it retains its spreadable consistency. 

Ingredients
2 sticks butter
1/2c olive oil 
1/2c water


Important: Make sure all of the ingredients are at room temperature.

Now  just blend all of the ingredients until incorporated and smooth.  At first I used the paddle attachment with my Kitchenaid mixer, but found it worked better to used the whisk attachment. 

Voila!  I like the slight hint of olive oil flavor, but for something more neutral you could probably try canola, grapeseed, or another variety of oil.  I tried it on some homemade banana bread, and it was a hit with me and Josiah.

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Whipped Butter

  1. Could someone advise the cholesterol in the 2 sticks of butter in this whipped butter recipe. It is probably horrific for someone like me who is watching my intake of cholesterol.

    1. As an alternative to JUST butter, I’d say it’s pretty good – not only does it have the addition of the healthy fats in olive oil but it also has water. Since it’s whipped and airy, it’s likely that you’ll use less. And when compared to fake, hydrogenated fats, the natural stuff always wins. If you need to stay away from butter just don’t make the recipe!

Comments are closed.