Chocolate Banana Tapioca Pudding

I. Love. Dessert.  Now that I’m eating more healthily and shunning white sugar, I need to be more careful in the desserts I choose to make.  Growing up, I couldn’t stand tapioca pudding, but when I discovered that Phil is a fan I decided to make it for him.  When I tasted it, I thought, this isn’t half bad!

Lately I’ve been making tapioca with a combination of coconut milk and almond milk, since I’m trying not to use milk these days.  I noticed a variation of chocolate tapioca on the side of the box, and decided to try and make chocolate banana pudding for the kiddos (and me, duh). 

Here is the basic chocolate recipe from the Kraft website.  I could probably tweak my version, but it tastes yummy as-is, kinda dark chocolatey.      

Ingredients
1 egg
2 cups  milk (coconut, almond, or a mix)
1/2 cup sugar (1/4c brown, 1/4c no-cal sweetener)
3T Minute Tapioca
3 sq./oz. dark chocolate 
1 ripe banana
1t vanilla
*optional: 3 T natural peanut butter

BEAT
egg, milk, sugar and tapioca with wire whisk in medium saucepan until well blended; let stand 5 min. Add chocolate.

BRING to full rolling boil on medium heat, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Mash in banana and add vanilla.  Stir in peanut butter, if using.

COOL 20 min. (Pudding thickens as it cools.) Stir. Serve warm or chilled. Stir before serving.

EDIT: This was so good the next day after it had been chilled, and topped with homemade whipped cream. Yum!  And I decided I like dark chocolate instead of the unsweetened, but you could substitute whatever.

