Valentine’s Day Craft: Heart Strings

I have a binder full of craft ideas, and have these romantic notions of Gwendolyn and I sitting at the table, merrily working away and bonding over string and beads and glue and paper.  I tend to pick crafts that are a wee bit too ambitious for my three-year-old, and end up doing most of the nitty-gritty work myself.

I found this idea for Heart Strings in a Family Fun magazine.  Since we always have a bunch of toilet paper tubes in the recylce bin, I like projects that use these little guys.  Gwendolyn helped Daddy and me paint the tubes red.  After they dried, I flattened them, cut them in 1″ increments, and made heart shapes according to the directions.  After poking holes in the top and bottom of each heart, I used embroidery thread to string beads and heart shapes.  You could make them as long or short as you want, varying the colors of beads or thread to you heart’s content.  Hehe.  I used pink embroidery thread and mostly pinkish beads, because that’s what I had on hand.

IMG_6255

IMG_6257 IMG_6261

IMG_6264

IMG_6267

I found a similar project on the Family Fun website, using ribbon instead – it looks really pretty.  These could make nice birthday decorations, too.  Here’s a complete listing of the Valentine’s Day crafts on their website.

5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Craft: Heart Strings

  1. These are SO awesome! I just pinned them and shared on facebook! They look so simple too! Thanks for linking up at Thrifty Thursday!

  2. This is so pretty. I’m going to do this for V-day so my husband won’t complain about the stash of toilet rolls at home. :)

Comments are closed.