Chocolate-Cherry Bread

Time for another recipe! I got the original version from a Rachael Ray magazine, and fell in love with the idea of combining chocolate and cherries.  I’m sure I could healthify this even more, but I mainly played around with the flour, sugar, and cherries.  I also added chocolate chips, and decided to bake this in a square pan, rather than a loaf pan.  You could take it a step further and try adding flaxseed or other grains, yogurt or applesauce instead of the sour cream, and other types of fat besides butter.  But without further ado, here’s my version.  I think it tastes like a not-too-sweet chocolate cake.

Chocolate-Cherry Bread
1 3/4c flour (1c wheat, 3/4c white)
1/3c unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2t baking powder
1/2t salt
1/4t baking soda
1 12oz bag frozen pitted cherries, thawed
1/4c brown sugar
1/2c sour cream
3 large eggs
6T melted butter
1/4c semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350.  Grease a 9″ square baking pan.  In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.

2.  In a small saucepan, combine half of the cherries and the sugar.  Using a potato masher, crush the cherries and cook over medium heat for about ten minutes, stirring occasionally.  Transfer to a large bowl and let cool.  Whisk in sour cream and eggs.  Stir in the flour mixture.

3.  Chop remaining cherries and fold into batter.  Gradually stir in melted butter.  Lastly, add the chocolate chips.  Pour batter into prepared pan, and bake until tester comes out clean.  Note: I didn’t time this, and just noted when the sides pulled slightly away from the pan and it tested done – maybe half an hour?  I turned the oven off and left it in for a while, since the first time I made it the center was slightly undone.

