No Poo

When I first heard the phase “No Poo” or “No Poo-Poo,” I assumed it had something to do with elimination communication or potty training.  So, naturally, I was intrigued!  However, as mistaken as I was, I was delighted to discover the benefits of this concept.  Simply put, No Poo is to stop using shampoo.  Sound drastic?  Hold your horses.  If you google the phrase you’ll come up with lots of links providing user tips and insights.  

According to Instructables, the benefits of No Poo include the following:

1. Shampoo is expensive.
2. Chemicals in shampoo can irritate and dry out your scalp and hair.
3. Chemicals in shampoo can be hazardous to your health.
4. Your body produces oil to naturally condition your hair and keep it healthy. Using shampoo daily upsets the natural balance and causes you to produce more oil than necessary to compensate.
Read more on the No Poo phenomenon at Instructables.

As I was trying to find more information about the exact method and what different people had to say about it, I stumbled upon this blog article on greenUPGRADER.  I’ve been playing around with different ratios of ingredients, and while I don’t have it down to an exact science, here is my basic method:

Dissolve a spoonful of baking soda in a cup of warm water (you can bring the measuring cup into the shower and fill it with water from the shower head so it doesn’t get too cold).  After wetting your hair, slowly pour the baking soda mixture over your scalp and massage it in.  Rinse thoroughly.  In the same measuring cup, pour apple cider vinegar (I fill it about halfway between the bottom and the quarter cup mark); a drizzle of honey mixed in adds some conditioning.  Fill it with water again, stir around to incorporate, and slowly pour over your scalp and massage in the same manner as the baking soda.  At this time I like to clip my hair up and let it sit while I wash the rest of my body, and then rinse my hair at the end. 

I’ve been trying to live a healthier, greener lifestyle, and it’s so fulfilling when I find something that combines these benefits while being economical at the same time. 

Now excuse me, I gotta go wash my hair.

