Apple Chicken Salad

I know, I know… I can never follow a recipe! I used to make goodies every week for Phil to take to work, and one of his co-workers commented that I could never make plain brownies; I always had to jazz it up.  But actually, these days I’m usually jazzing it down

We got a couple whole chickens at the store this week, and I used some of the meat to make chicken salad for Phil.  We’re trying to get him off the processed lunch meats, and though I suggested chicken sandwiches, he’d rather have chicken salad (I guess mayo makes everything taste better). 

I clipped the original recipe ages ago, intending to make it because I loved the combination of ingredients.  However, since I didn’t have all the items on hand and didn’t feel like spending the money on it, I simplified it somewhat.  Here’s my version:

Apple Chicken Salad
Ingredients
1/4c mayo
1/4c plain yogurt
1T dijon mustard
splash of apple cider vinegar
2-3c cooked chicken, chopped
2 celery ribs, chopped
1 apple, peeled & chopped
fresh chopped parsley
sea salt, to taste
fresh ground pepper, to taste

Directions
Stir together first 4 ingredients in a medium bowl.  Add chicken, celery, apple, and parsley; toss gently to combine.  Season with salt and pepper.  Serve immediately or refrigerate.

