Homemade Diaper Rash Cream

I love to make my own products if I can, and when I first embarked upon making homemade baby food I stumbled across a myriad of recipes for wipes solution and baby powder and other baby care items.  Man, if I were handy with a sewing machine I could make my own wipes, dipes, burp cloths, bibs, blankets… but alas, I am not.  

However, I can mix a few ingredients together!  Josiah has a diaper rash that will not go away; it’s not getting worse, but it’s not clearing up.  I’ve tried a number of things – airing him out, keeping him diaperless for a while, Vaseline, Desitin, powder… and now that I’m running out of things I decided to whip up a batch of my own and see how it works.

I was looking for a recipe that wasn’t a fancy concoction of hard-to-find items, and I stumbled upon this homemade recipe for diaper rash salve.  Here is my version:

Homemade Diaper Rash Cream
Ingredients:
2.5 oz. coconut oil (or cocoa butter)
1.5 oz sweet almond oil (or olive, or other plant-based oil)
2 tablespoons beeswax
3 oz water

Directions:
You could use a double-boiler on the stove top, but I just used a large glass measuring cup in the microwave.  Measure out the oils according to the ounce markings, then add the beeswax.  Melt in the microwave and mix gently to combine (be careful not to splash hot oil on yourself!).  Add the water, and whisk vigorously to combine (this took some effort, as the oil and water want to separate).  You could probably use a blender or food processor, but why not build some muscle in the process?  Using a rubber spatula, scrape into a small container.  I filled two small jelly jars.  I may tweek the recipe a bit so I don’t have to deal with the half ounces, but we’ll see if this does the trick.

***EDIT***  I discovered I did have to put this in my mini blender after all, because some of the water hadn’t been mixed in enough.  Now it’s nice and creamy, and seems to be helping Josiah’s rash.  Note that clean-up can be a pain because of the wax and oils.

