Be Green

I know, I know, three posts in one day – I’m sorry! But I’ve been reading articles about homemade cleaners and have been wanting to try some. I’ve done so in the past – baking soda, lemon juice, olive oil for furniture polish, etc – but just never stuck with it. I’m really interested in trying some of the natural recipes for laundry detergent.

I had saved an article from Health magazine, and listed with various ideas for going “green” is the Green Living website. There are TONS of ideas, from shopping to cleaning to decorating, but for now I’m trying to focus on more eco-friendly cleaning. If you have any ideas/success stories let me know, but for now here are some of my fave bookmarks that I hope to try:

The Five Basics for Non-Toxic Cleaning
Tips and Hints to Keep Whites White
The Best Window Cleaner
Homemade Soft Scrubber
Non-Toxic Oven Cleaner
No More Static Cling!

Annie’s Favorite Wood Floor Soap
Vinegar as Antiseptic: Floor Wash with Herbs
Washing Soda: All-Purpose Cleaner
Counter Cleaners
Three Ways to Kill Mold Naturally

Since there are so many different articles and tips, some of the information is redundant. For instance, baking soda and washing soda are used in a lot of the recipes, so you may encounter referrals for those different uses.

Some links to other websites:

Natural Household Cleaning Recipes (you’ll need to scroll down)
How to Make Your Own Laundry Detergent – And Save Big Money (I REALLY want to try this!)

Does anyone know of any good, inexpensive, natural grocery store? Whole Foods is WAY too expensive! I found Back to Basics in E. Greenwich referenced online, but have never been. I think Belmont Market in Wakefield might be another choice, but I’ve never been.

Other simple tips from the aforementioned article:

“Ditch plastic shower curtains for those made with organic cotton or hemp… a hemp liner resists mildew, and cloth curtains can easily be washed.”

“Shift to organic coffee and milk… coffee crops are among the most heavily sprayed with pesticides, and cows are treated with hormones and antibiotics.”

Use “natural repellants that can do the job without toxins. Try using an orange peel that’s been scored to release citrus oil to discourage cockroaches and other insects. Or visit planetnatural or eartheasy.

