Ailurophile

“Cat lover” – that’s what it means. Good news: I got the kittens! I had to fill out a new adoption form saying I would keep them indoors, but that’s fine with me – then I won’t worry about anything else happening to another of my cats, and it will be cleaner around here that way. I don’t get to pick them up for a little over a week, though, because they’re currently undergoing a short course of medication. I’m going to visit them, though! I’m excited – I want to pick out cute collars and a kitty bed, some new toys… I might volunteer at the shelter, too.

I feel almost guilty looking forward to my new felines after Nala’s disappearance. She was my baby, but I didn’t get to pick her out from a host of other cats and zero in on a personality that intrigued me. I picked her out of a litter of three kittens, and I was delighted with the black patch on the top of her head in the shape of a peace sign. Hence, her name – forget what language it is, though. Like all kittens, I wasn’t sure what her personality would be until she grew up, grew into herself. She was playful at times, a spaz, but didn’t like to be held or cuddled very much. If I put her down next to me or – god forbid! – on my lap, she would run away. :( She did sleep in bed with us, though, and that was sweet.

Anyhoo… I’ve been looking for names suitable for orange cats. One of them is a darker orange – they named him “Tang” at the shelter, but I don’t like it (plus, I prefer two-syllable names for pets). Twinkie is the lighter of the two, and that fits because he’s a sugar-filled sweetie! Here are some of my ideas: Tangerine, Rusty, Milo, Jaffa (as in the orange and chocolate Jaffa cakes – I think they’re British), Cayenne, Orange Julius (Julius, OJ). Any favorites, other ideas? Tang (as his name now stands) actually has a little bit of black in his orange fur – on his leg and ear, I think. I came upon this interesting fact about this mixing of colors in male cats:

The gene in cats that causes the orange coat color is sexed linked, and is on the X sex chromosome. This gene may display orange or black. Thus, as female cat with two X chromosomes may have orange and black colors in its coat. A male, with only one X chromosome, can have only orange or black, not both.

If a male cat is both orange and black it is (besides being extremely rare) sterile. To have both the orange and the black coat colors, the male cat must have all or part of both female X chromosomes. This unusual sex chromosome combination will render the male cat sterile.

Some other interesting tidbits about cats:

A cat that bites you for rubbing his stomach is often biting from pleasure, not anger.

Jaguars are the only big cats that don’t roar.

Cats’ hearing stops at 65 khz (kilohertz); humans’ hearing stops at 20 khz.

Cats respond better to women than to men, probably due to the fact that women’s voices have a higher pitch.

Tests done by the Behavioral Department of the Musuem of Natural History conclude that while a dog’s memory lasts about 5 minutes, a cat’s recall can last as long as 16 hours. (Guess I should be careful what I do around my kitties!)

It is estimated that cats can make over 60 different sounds.

