my grandfather

My grandfather has been in the hospital for a few weeks now. It seems to be one step forward, two steps back for him. I’ve been trying to visit him in the hospital whenever I can, and call my mom for updates (she brings my grandmother in twice a day). My mom also e-mails the family updates, and this is the latest:

Hi Family,

Grandpa R is scheduled for surgery on his intestines and/or colon tomorrow, Tuesday. I don’t yet know what time, but please be in prayer for this. It is a serious operation and Grandma is somewhat anxious. The doctors have been honest about the risks, but say this is necessary for him to be able to move on in the process of recovery and rehab

Today Grandpa told us that he had asked God to take him if he is not going to recover; in other words, he doesn’t want to be an invalid the rest of his life. He also said that if he should die, he wants us to accept it. I assured him we had told God that, and that we are praying for a successful operation and for his recovery, although we are submitted to whatever will glorify God.

