Encouragement

Isaiah 40:28-31
… The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles, they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

I Thessalonians 5:16-18
Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Psalm 46:1-3
God is our refuge and strength,
an ever-present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the
earth give way
and the mountains fall into the heart of
the sea,
though its waters roar and foam
and the mountains quake with their
surging.

Went to see my grandfather in the hospital last night – it was so upsetting. Grandma R., Mom, Dad, and Paul were there. It was so hard to see Grandpa like that – he had just come out of emergency surgery because he couldn’t breathe (not sure if it was related to his neck injury or not, but they can’t begin to fix that until he’s stable), and he was all swollen, somewhat bloody, seemingly not with it (although I was told he could understand – he kept nodding and shaking his head when he was asked questions). Had to leave the room because I was crying; some encouragement I am.

I just saw him last weekend for his birthday, and he was fine, you know? He’s such a sweet, amazing man, with a heart for God, his family, other people – he prays for so many people every day. I feel bad for my grandmother who has to see this; I hope she doesn’t feel guilty, I hope he’s not scared. I don’t know what to say.

This morning, my mom told us that my other grandmother is in the hospital – she had a heart attack. *sigh* Why does everything happen all at once? Suddenly, housework and dishes and my weight don’t seem to matter.

