che

At my sister’s recommendation and my library’s availability, I finally watched “Motorcyle Diaries.” Stupid me, I didn’t realize who the main character was – I didn’t know his first name was Ernesto! I am ashamed to admit I don’t have the best knowledge of history – dates, names, places, what have you. I feel that my being educated at a private Christian school limited my horizons… and of course the fact that I didn’t go to college. I was once an avid reader, but preferred (and still do) fiction over non-fiction.

I have been bemoaning the fact that there is so much knowledge, so much information, facts that I haven’t crammed into my brain yet. What’s worse, I just read the other day that your brain reaches it’s final weight in your 20s. From then on, as you get older, you can still learn new things and introduce new ideas, but it takes longer to assimilate and remember. I only have five years left to put things in there that might actually stay! This of course doesn’t explain why I can’t seem to remember anything from high school.

Back to “Motorcycle Diaries”… I decided to [TRY] and read up on a topic that interests me as often as possible – either from reading about it, hearing about it, watching a movie, someone else piquing my interest, whatever. Today I checked out Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, by Jon Lee Anderson, in the hopes of educating myself. I haven’t actually started reading it yet, and I hope I can get through it… it’s quite thick! And if it reads like a textbook, forget it!

When I think of Che Guevara, I think of Fidel Castro, communism, the Cuban revolution… of dictatorship, unfairness and injustice, and finally overthrow. One of the reasons why the movie so intrigued me, is that Guevara started out on a mission for justice for Latin America. How could someone with such compassion turn into such a negative leader? What went wrong? Upon first blush, I would say his heart was in the right place… but there can’t ever be a perfect government, a perfect society, because they’re comprised of people… and people aren’t perfect. Politics must be one of the most challenging mediums for implementing one’s ideals.

Anyhoo… if you know of any good books on the topic, please pass along some recommendations. I was only able to find this one in the biography section, but i’m sure there are a lot more out there.

