Addy Turns One

*sigh*  My little baby is officially one year old.  Each child grows up more quickly than the last, it seems.  They watch and learn and try to keep up, growing up much too fast for my taste.  I cried a bit on her birthday for I no longer have any babies.

I didn’t take as many monthly photos as I would have liked, but I did take a few last month…

For her birthday month I wanted to take some special shots.  Since she was born around Valentine’s Day I wanted to dress her up with wings, like cupid, and in something pink and girly and frilly.  She didn’t really cooperate but I’m hoping to get a few more tries before she grows out of the outfits.

Mommy and Daddy took her out for breakfast on her special day and she had us all to ourselves since the big kiddos were with the grandparents.  We ordered pizza for dinner and dessert was fruit with coconut cream topping and sprinkles to make it festive.

I wanted to have a party for her but didn’t want to go crazy with food and guests ‘n’ all.  Instead, we had the grandparents over for cake and ice cream.  I planned on making the cake but my mom had a coupon for a free bakery cake.  I wish I had gone with the homemade!  The cake tasted oddly chemical, like there were no natural ingredients whatsoever!  The bright side: even though there was a lot of cake leftover I didn’t really want to eat any of it.  A miracle!

The highlight of the party was the gift from Meme and Pepe: a Kubota pedal toy tractor with trailor.  It’s for all of the kids, really, but they decided to give it to Addy and the kids can all use it during the warmer months.  Daddy, Josiah and Pepe put it together…

Here’s to another year of growth and curiosity and wonder and beauty and making Mommy smile.

2 thoughts on “Addy Turns One

  1. I can’t believe it’s been a year already! You are right time passes more quickly with each kid. I feel this especially with my baby! My big girl turns 10 next week and my little girl turns 5! I love Addy’s outfit, she is a beauty! I miss my girls being that age!

Leave a Reply

